Creamy Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Wonderful chicken salad - nice and creamy! Plus it's a great way to use up leftover grilled chicken. I used Hellman's light mayo and added a bit of finely chopped celery along with the almonds. This was great on mini potato rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
Very good recipe. I made this for a baby shower and scaled the recipe to make 35 servings. I added celery and grapes, which I love in chicken salad, and it turned out great. I didn't have fresh tarragon on hand, so I used dry tarragon (only used half of what the recipe called for since I used dry seasoning instead of fresh). The next time I make this, I will not put in as much tarragon as the recipe calls for, since I thought it was a little overpowering. However, I am pregnant and that may be why I found the taste to be a little much. Overall, this is a very good recipe and is easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
This dish is especially good when broccoli, cauliflower or celery are added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Left out the almonds and didn't bother to whip the cream. Added a wee squeeze of lemon and a teeny bit of finely minced onion. Loved the fresh tarragon, but I mostly was wowed with using grilled chicken rather than poaching it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
I really like this recipe because it's so creamy and doesn't taste entirely like mayo. I added green grapes and celery to give it an extra kick and it was fabulous on toasted bread. It's perfect for a women's tea or brunch and even works great on a bed of lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
The measurements were all off on this one when I reduced the serving size to only one. I ended up with tons or whipped cream so the chicken salad was extremely "whipped cream tasting." I added more seasonings and it just didn't come together as well I as thought it would have considering the reviews. Maybe I will make it again using the recommended amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2004
Delicious and easy!! I used dried tarragon - a pinch or two. With salted snokehouse almonds there was no need to add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Very good, mom loved it! Seems a bit strange with the whipped cream and tarragon, but definitely delicious. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
Everyone liked this one. Used canned chicken and it worked very well. I put the almonds in the food processor to chop them. Next time will reduce the time, maybe just pulse to chop so there are still chunky pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
I thought this recipe was one of the best I've had. I think the whipping cream is a nice touch and tones the chicken salad down so it's not so tangy and strong in mayo flavor. I didn't add the tarragon and I did add sliced grapes, which made a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States