Creamy Chicken Rice and Veggie Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Did not come out right at all! I followed all the directions and the rice came out hard and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I did this a little different. I split everything in the recipe in half (because its only for 2 people) except for the cream of chicken soup and the milk (used what the recipe calls for) and then I used just 2 pork chops instead of chicken and baked it 5-10 minutes longer than recipe calls for w/ the pork chops cut into slices and it was AWESOME! I've also done it w/ chicken but same thing w/ cutting everything in half except for soup and milk because it's too dry if you do it exactly by the recipe in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I made this tonight and we thought that it tasted very good. It was a simple and easy recipe. I did take advice from some of the reviewers and added some water to it. I added about a can and a half using my soup can. I do think that there is entirely too much pepper. Hubby and I can usually handle spices very well but this was overkill. I think that if you use half of the pepper then it will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This has potential. agree with others - needs a lot more liquid. Maybe prepare rice as directed before assembling recipe?!? Also it doesn't mention veggies or the amount to add. I added sliced yellow squash, zucchini, diced onion (saute before). I also used boneless, skinless chicken breasts instead of thighs. Once I compensated with water, it was better! I'll try again preparing rice ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I like the way the chicken is broiled then placed on top the rice. we did not care for the end result of the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I used chicken drumsticks and removed the skin after cooking for about five minutes. I added one can of water after the cream of chicken soup and one can of chicken broth to the mixture. I also used one cup of regular rice and one box of rice a roni. I added one cup of frozen corn and one of frozen broccoli. I thought this was fine, not amazing, and will probably not make it again. But my husband loved it, he loves all concoctions of rice and veggies with chicken, so thus it gets three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLE33
Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
I made this recipe because my family likes chicken rice-a-roni. Following the advice of others, I added 2 cups of water and that worked for the rice, but this recipe was just too salty and had an overpowering pepper taste(and I only used 1 tsp pepper!). Just curious about the "veggies" in the title. Definitely some ingredients were left out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Verdes Peninsula, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
This receipe was very good. It left the chicken very moist. I would do this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
When making this dish, I could tell on sight before I even began that there would not be enough liquid. I added 2 cups of water, and could have easily added some more. The flavor was great, and had the liquid ratio been accurate in the original I would have given it 5 stars. As it stands, though (as another reviewer has noted) the recipe need to be revised. I will be making this again, though adding 3 cups of water along with the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
Just pondering this - but what I would do when making this is divide the one and a quarter cups of milk up evenly between the packages of Rice-A-Roni and use water for the rest. Then you would get the nice creamy flavor but not the stickiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States