Creamy Chicken Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
Wonderful! My husband usually doesn't like soup, but he loves this one. So flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This is soooo like my "doctored up" ramen chicken noodle soup. I like one person's idea of adding coconut milk. And instead of red pepper flakes, I like to use Cholula hot sauce: just the right level of hotness for my constitution! Other than the above, I add: leftover chicken or pork or shrimp; leftover or freshly chopped vegetable; lime juice and fish sauce, if I want some pad thai flavor; and anything else that might be lying around. :-) As you might guess, I'm a "fly by the seat of my pants" type of cook! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peg Shambo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guilderland, New York, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
This unusual soup tastes great! I add 2 cups chopped cooked chicken during the last steps. Anyone who turns their nose up at the sound of this soup need only taste it to see how delicious it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
Great, and easy to do. I do find, though that it needs a little more bite, so I add dash of cayenne to the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Belle River, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
This truly was the best peanut soup I have ever had...I chopped up the celery and a red onion in my food processor. I also added about one fourth of a green pepper for some added flavor. I did not have heavy cream so I mixed up some milk and instant coffee cream, and that did the trick. So easy and quick and flavorful. Virginia is known for its peanuts and peanut soup is a big thing.....and this is better than the traditional peanut soup in southeastern Virginia's restaurants. Garnish it with some chopped peanuts. De-lish. Served with peanut chicken sald croissants. (Im adding that recipe to the site soon). Thank you:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAWGODESSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA
Living In: Prince George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
My husband wanted a spicy peanut soup, so I added cayenne at the end (I wasn't sure how much to add so I waited till I could taste it and I ended up adding a lot). Even without the cayenne I thought it was great, but we prefer it spicy. I also added some corn starch to thicken it a little (I used creamy peanut butter) and I used half milk and half cream. Fantastic soup! I know I’ll be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This soup is so delicious and flavorful. I added cayenne for flavor, chopped cooked chicken, and used coconut milk instead of heavy whipping cream. Wonderful for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
At first I was skeptical, chicken/peanut soup? But WOW! what a surprise. this is delish! Someone needs to put this on their restaurant menu and they will have a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This is one of my favorite soups. Perfect flavor, very smooth. I used one full 16 oz can of extra cruncy peanut butter, 3 t. of curry powder, and cut up some precooked Tyson grilled chicken strips that you can get out of the meat section from your grocer. Feel free to double the curry if you like a stronger curry taste. I also added 1 can of coconut milk instead of the cream. Anyways with those changes the soup is definitely a 5 star recipe and makes a very tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mat Owen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Use real butter in stead of margarine!!! It's absolutely delicious as is!!!! This is a true southern (Tennessee) peanut soup recipe. It's not meant to be "spicy." It tastes almost like the peanut soup served at a local Tea House owned by an older Tennessean woman.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gofreddygo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States