Creamy Chicken Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Use real butter in stead of margarine!!! It's absolutely delicious as is!!!! This is a true southern (Tennessee) peanut soup recipe. It's not meant to be "spicy." It tastes almost like the peanut soup served at a local Tea House owned by an older Tennessean woman.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gofreddygo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This is soooo like my "doctored up" ramen chicken noodle soup. I like one person's idea of adding coconut milk. And instead of red pepper flakes, I like to use Cholula hot sauce: just the right level of hotness for my constitution! Other than the above, I add: leftover chicken or pork or shrimp; leftover or freshly chopped vegetable; lime juice and fish sauce, if I want some pad thai flavor; and anything else that might be lying around. :-) As you might guess, I'm a "fly by the seat of my pants" type of cook! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peg Shambo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guilderland, New York, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Interesting, used coconut milk instead of the heavy cream. Added a few extra spices. Though I would make it again, I wouldn't make it for dinner. Lunch or even a part of dinner. Definitely needs french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This is one of my favorite soups. Perfect flavor, very smooth. I used one full 16 oz can of extra cruncy peanut butter, 3 t. of curry powder, and cut up some precooked Tyson grilled chicken strips that you can get out of the meat section from your grocer. Feel free to double the curry if you like a stronger curry taste. I also added 1 can of coconut milk instead of the cream. Anyways with those changes the soup is definitely a 5 star recipe and makes a very tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mat Owen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
At first I was skeptical, chicken/peanut soup? But WOW! what a surprise. this is delish! Someone needs to put this on their restaurant menu and they will have a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I took another reviewers advice and made with coconut milk in place of cream & added curry paste for heat, but still wasn't very spicy - might use real peppers next time. Also added chicken & would be good with carrots. Was excellent with cilantro as a garnish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This soup was alright if you like peanut butter soup... it was a little too rich for me, but my boyfriend loved it. Instead of cream we used whole milk & we added sauteed onions, sugar snap peas & bell peppers and chopped cooked chicken which helped make it more nutritious, however it was still really rich. I'd recommend adding about 1/2 the peanut butter called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This soup is so delicious and flavorful. I added cayenne for flavor, chopped cooked chicken, and used coconut milk instead of heavy whipping cream. Wonderful for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Try it with coconut milk instead of cream and add some red curry paste for spice. MMMMMMmmmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Our vegetarian friends made a version of this at a dinner party. They simply replaced the chicken broth with veggie. I believe they also used creamy peanut butter (personal preference) and added a little heat. I agree that it does need a kick. When I tried to recreate it I used red pepper flakes in the beginning as one reviewer suggested and it gave it a nice warmth. My only issue with it was caused by me - I only had natural peanut butter at the house and it was not nearly as nice of a consistency as our friends. Next time I’ll get regular sugared peanut butter. I am rating the version we had at the party b/c I know it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Marietta, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States