Creamy Chicken Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. I actually like peanut butter-- peanut butter cups, PB&J sandwiches, "ants on a log" celery sticks, etc. I had my doubts but since people gave it such great reviews, I decided to give it a try. I didn't even use that much peanut butter and all we could taste was the dang peanut butter. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Like so many others, I deleted the heavy whipping cream and replaced it with coconut milk. I doubled the recipe and added one whole deboned chicken using it's stock in place of canned chicken broth. I added salt, curry, and cayenne pepper to taste which for a doubled recipe was around 4 tbsp salt, 4 tbsp curry, and 3 tbsp cayenne pepper. We loved it!! Also sent half to a sick friend, her family raved about it. Will cook this again. May add fresh mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I thought this was just okay, but my bf loved it. I used coconut milk in place of the whipping cream and added chicken and red pepper flakes. Next time, I might try adding curry paste like other have suggested. I felt like it needed a bit more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Coconut milk and red chili paste make this +++++!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I like this recipe a lot, though I did alter it a bit. I used all the same measurement for the basic soup, but I substituted coconut milk for heavy cream, added shredded cooked chicken bits, used green onions, 2 tbsp. red curry paste, 1 tbsp. tarragon, and 1.5 tbsp. brown sugar. Ok, so this is really a different recipe, and I would have just customized it, but I'm not a supporting member.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I made this recipe as-is and it has a great flavor. I found the texture a little odd though. I think I would prefer it a little smoother. But overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cleomobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Tried it just as it is written (for 9 serv) and it was great until I added the whipping cream. It lost too much of the peanut flavor. I added a brick of cream cheese, more peanut butter, a dash of Frank's Hot Sauce and garnished with spring onions-perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
My b/f loved this. My dad was not impressed. It was a "differnt flavor" I liked that it, it was something differnt for a fast weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strayredbolt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I used green onion, no celery, and creamy natural peanut butter. While I'm not sure I'd like to eat a big bowl of this rich soup on its own, it is a really good go-along with a sandwich. Mine was a BLT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Wonderful! We made this for company dinner, and everyone absolutely loved it. Even the one who said he hated peanut butter! Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyAnnA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States