Creamy Chicken Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Try it with coconut milk instead of cream and add some red curry paste for spice. MMMMMMmmmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
This truly was the best peanut soup I have ever had...I chopped up the celery and a red onion in my food processor. I also added about one fourth of a green pepper for some added flavor. I did not have heavy cream so I mixed up some milk and instant coffee cream, and that did the trick. So easy and quick and flavorful. Virginia is known for its peanuts and peanut soup is a big thing.....and this is better than the traditional peanut soup in southeastern Virginia's restaurants. Garnish it with some chopped peanuts. De-lish. Served with peanut chicken sald croissants. (Im adding that recipe to the site soon). Thank you:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAWGODESSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA
Living In: Prince George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This soup is so delicious and flavorful. I added cayenne for flavor, chopped cooked chicken, and used coconut milk instead of heavy whipping cream. Wonderful for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I like this recipe a lot, though I did alter it a bit. I used all the same measurement for the basic soup, but I substituted coconut milk for heavy cream, added shredded cooked chicken bits, used green onions, 2 tbsp. red curry paste, 1 tbsp. tarragon, and 1.5 tbsp. brown sugar. Ok, so this is really a different recipe, and I would have just customized it, but I'm not a supporting member.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Tried it just as it is written (for 9 serv) and it was great until I added the whipping cream. It lost too much of the peanut flavor. I added a brick of cream cheese, more peanut butter, a dash of Frank's Hot Sauce and garnished with spring onions-perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Our vegetarian friends made a version of this at a dinner party. They simply replaced the chicken broth with veggie. I believe they also used creamy peanut butter (personal preference) and added a little heat. I agree that it does need a kick. When I tried to recreate it I used red pepper flakes in the beginning as one reviewer suggested and it gave it a nice warmth. My only issue with it was caused by me - I only had natural peanut butter at the house and it was not nearly as nice of a consistency as our friends. Next time I’ll get regular sugared peanut butter. I am rating the version we had at the party b/c I know it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Marietta, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Coconut milk and red chili paste make this +++++!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Great soup recipe! I agree a little kick is definitely needed, so I added a few red pepper flakes towards the end. Next time I will add them in the beginning with the celery and onions. Served the soup with crusty french bread rolls and it was a perfect match. Can't wait to serve it again...thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I made this recipe as-is and it has a great flavor. I found the texture a little odd though. I think I would prefer it a little smoother. But overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cleomobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This is soooo like my "doctored up" ramen chicken noodle soup. I like one person's idea of adding coconut milk. And instead of red pepper flakes, I like to use Cholula hot sauce: just the right level of hotness for my constitution! Other than the above, I add: leftover chicken or pork or shrimp; leftover or freshly chopped vegetable; lime juice and fish sauce, if I want some pad thai flavor; and anything else that might be lying around. :-) As you might guess, I'm a "fly by the seat of my pants" type of cook! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peg Shambo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guilderland, New York, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States