Creamy Chicken Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
This unusual soup tastes great! I add 2 cups chopped cooked chicken during the last steps. Anyone who turns their nose up at the sound of this soup need only taste it to see how delicious it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
Wonderful! My husband usually doesn't like soup, but he loves this one. So flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
Very nice. Added the Jalapeno peppers and they gave it a nice "kick". Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
Great, and easy to do. I do find, though that it needs a little more bite, so I add dash of cayenne to the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Belle River, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
This truly was the best peanut soup I have ever had...I chopped up the celery and a red onion in my food processor. I also added about one fourth of a green pepper for some added flavor. I did not have heavy cream so I mixed up some milk and instant coffee cream, and that did the trick. So easy and quick and flavorful. Virginia is known for its peanuts and peanut soup is a big thing.....and this is better than the traditional peanut soup in southeastern Virginia's restaurants. Garnish it with some chopped peanuts. De-lish. Served with peanut chicken sald croissants. (Im adding that recipe to the site soon). Thank you:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAWGODESSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA
Living In: Prince George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Great soup recipe! I agree a little kick is definitely needed, so I added a few red pepper flakes towards the end. Next time I will add them in the beginning with the celery and onions. Served the soup with crusty french bread rolls and it was a perfect match. Can't wait to serve it again...thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
My husband wanted a spicy peanut soup, so I added cayenne at the end (I wasn't sure how much to add so I waited till I could taste it and I ended up adding a lot). Even without the cayenne I thought it was great, but we prefer it spicy. I also added some corn starch to thicken it a little (I used creamy peanut butter) and I used half milk and half cream. Fantastic soup! I know I’ll be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
There is just sumething not right about peanuts in soup. I tried this anyways and it just didn't fly well at my house. Needless to say i won't ever make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Our vegetarian friends made a version of this at a dinner party. They simply replaced the chicken broth with veggie. I believe they also used creamy peanut butter (personal preference) and added a little heat. I agree that it does need a kick. When I tried to recreate it I used red pepper flakes in the beginning as one reviewer suggested and it gave it a nice warmth. My only issue with it was caused by me - I only had natural peanut butter at the house and it was not nearly as nice of a consistency as our friends. Next time I’ll get regular sugared peanut butter. I am rating the version we had at the party b/c I know it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Marietta, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Try it with coconut milk instead of cream and add some red curry paste for spice. MMMMMMmmmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States