Creamy Chicken Bog With A Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
don't put the vegtables in till later mine were mush, and it's just kinda salty dish w/ a pop of sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cookmary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Loved it! Making it for my large crew to nibble on all weekend, I doubled the batch. We left out the red pepper flakes since some of us don't care for much spice/heat. Husband says he'd like a little more kick so he's adding a dash of hot sauce to his individual serving. We'll definitely have again this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This came out really great! I had to substitute carrots and celery for the bell peppers and left out the bullion cubes but otherwise followed the recipe. It even tasted great before the soup was mixed in at the end, next time I may not add the soup. Don't leave out the red pepper flakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This is so yummy and satisfying! It is one of my fiance's favorites and mine too. I love it because it truly is a one pot meal so clean up is a breeze. I added mushrooms, used boneless chilcken breasts cut into small cubes, and cream of celery soup. (I only made this many changes because I was trying to use what I had on hand.) It was amazing! It is my newest staple dinner, and I love how you can easily add/change it and it is still so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
being from Charleston,SC and living in MI,I was thrilled to find this recipe. I tweeked it a little. I used boneless breasts (4). I also used a box of uncle ben's original wild rice,with the white rice. and last but not least,4 cups of chicken broth and only 3 cups of water. I served with fried okra and fresh jalepeno garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spencer Nunnally

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Great love of your recipe from SC! 8x bone-in chicken thighs 4x cups chicken broth and the rest water (I did by eye, really) 1x onion (i freaking' minced instead of diced it) 2x chicken bullion cubes 1x turkey butterball sausage 14oz (big pack) 2x family size rice-aroni (whatever flavor, I got chicken flavor) 2x tablespoons of ground Cheyenne pepper 1x tablespoon garlic salt 2x tablespoon Italian seasoning 1x tablespoon onion salt 1x family size can of cream of mushroom (22oz) put in chicken, 4 cans of chicken broth and the rest with water till chicken is covered. put bullion in and set to high till boiling. turn to low so it simmers till chicken is soft. ~50 mins. while chicken boiled I minced the onion and diced the sausage to set aside. after 50 minutes. I took chicken out and filtered out any thick fat floating around the pot. hand pulled the chicken from the fat/bone while tossing chicken back in along with the sausage and onion. I put the rice, salts, and peppers and left the can of mushroom out for now. Stirred. Kept heat on low since it kept simmering.. Checked every 5 minutes to see if rice was soft. I added chicken broth as needed to make thickness what I wanted, added cream of mushroom once rice was soft. Turned off stove and served once it stopped simmering. I served this alongside peas and collared greens. Awesome comfort food for cold days. I changed the recipe around for convenience and what we had in our store. Took me about 2.5 hrs to make. I gave 5/5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Super easy and good! Followed recipe except with two minor changes: -Pressure cooked the thighs instead of boiled to cut down on time- pressure cooked for 8 minutes, so the recipe was a fairly quick one. Poured in just 2 cups of water and 1 boullion. Added chicken stock from a carton to adjust stock afterward so there was 4.5 cups -Added dried cayenne in addition to red pepper (cut up two whole, dried peppers) Very good, quick, and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Loved this, rest of the family could have lived without the kielbasa. Not too difficult but does take a little time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockyTrax

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yankton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
My husband loved this dish, and rated it a 10!! It was a little on the hot side for me, but this dish really does need some heat. I couldn't find turkey kielbasa, so I used smoked turkey sausage (looked like kielbasa) instead. Otherwise, followed exact recipe. I will make again if my husband requests it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States