Creamy Chicken, Bacon and Tomato Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
A solid four stars - I have to admit I made some changes but they seem fairly insignificant. I let my son pick the pasta, so he picked seashells, and instead of cooking the chicken, I used meat I picked off last night's roasted birdie. The MAJOR change was that I used plain canned tomatoes and seasoned them myself with salt, pepper, oregano, basil and garlic. I generally don't like the flavor of the "flavored" canned 'maters so I never buy them. Kept to the heart of the recipe though, and it was great. Really really good. I would recommend seasoning the chicken as you cook it, just as a general cooking rule. Salt pepper and garlic is all you'd really need and would add another layer of flavor to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Small changes due to what I had on hand. I used elbow macaroni and because I couponed it for REAL cheap, I used Philly's Italian Cheese and Herb cooking cream (the whole stinkin' container). I did spice my chicken before cooking it (onion powder, garlic powder, basil, oregano, pepper) and I did saute some fresh sliced onion, minced garlic, chopped red bell pepper and sliced baby bellas (had to use them--so why not throw it in?) in the skillet after I added the chicken. Had I NOT spiced my chicken and used a flavored cooking cream, it would have been bland. I think it still could use some oomph, like maybe some chicken broth instead of plain water, fresh chopped sweet tomatoes and more spices so I might play with the recipe still. I think it could be a great little skillet meal. For those of you who have spotted the cooking cream in your supermarket, this is a good way to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was pretty good. It just crossed over the line from being too bland, tho. Next time I think I will add garlic and/or onions to kick it up a bit. I cooked the chicken in a tbsp. of butter and sprinkled it with seasoning salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This recipe was awesome! I tweaked it a little..I used a little extra bacon, fresh garden tomatoes seasoned myself, fresh garlic, fresh parsley and I used 1/4 cup water to ensure the sauce stayed thick and flavorful. My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Loved this. I was looking for a pasta dish with chicken, bacon, and tomatoes, and this fit the bill. I followed the recipe exactly except I used regular pasta and threw in an extra slice of bacon. I think it would be great with a couple dashes of hot pepper flakes, or a couple sprinkles of cayenne pepper, just to give it a little extra kick. The leftovers were fantastic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was good the 1st day and excellent the second. 2 cups of uncooked pasta enough. I sauteed 1/2 frozen red pepper, added 3 cans of diced tomatoes 1 brick of cream cheese. Mixed the 1/2 cup water with 2 Tbsp corn starch. It seemed to need thickening. This is going in the rotation file because we ALL really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Really good. We will make this again. Hubby even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I loved this, it was as easy as spaghetti, and so much better! Three of my kids were not crazy about it, but they do not like "chunky" tomatoes. I may just use spaghetti sauce next time, and I'm sure they will like it. My 15 yr. old has added it to her 'learn to cook' list, and my husband said he wanted it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrison, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Agra, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I liked! A couple didn't like the cream cheese and suggested an Alfredo sauce instead, but I think I would definitely add garlic and basil and probably black olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
After reading the reviews that suggested the recipe was a bit bland, I made a few changes to try and avoid this, with fairly good success! As others suggested, seasoning the chicken as it cooks is important. Since I didn't have any bacon, I cooked the chicken bits in bacon grease, and seasoned them with black pepper, salt, white pepper, ground coriander, and dark beer (in place on the 1/2 cup of water) as well as some cayenne pepper for a bit of spice. I think using the bacon fat may have helped to dry out the chicken breast pieces more then I would have liked, although I liked the flavor it added to the meal. Next time, I will try cooking the chicken in extra-virgin olive oil, and will add some bacon fat while I'm thickening the cream sauce. I was short on cream cream cheese, so I substituted heavy whipping cream for the remainder. After adding the tomatoes (with a little salt) and reducing the sauce for several minutes, I added some corn starch to help thicken it. The final change I made was to add a sprinkle of dried parsley to the bowls of finished pasta in addition to the Parmesan, just for color! Hopefully, I can keep the chicken more moist next time, but in the end, the sauce was absolutely delicious, and I will try to make this recipe again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oliver Springs, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States