Creamy Cherry Tomato Salad with Fresh Basil, Corn and Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
This really isn't a review of the recipe the way it's suppose to be made . But when I read the recipe I thought wow this would make a really good side dish warmed up . Yesterday I had leftover corn on the cob so I thought great time to give it a try . The only changes I made to the ingredients was left out the mayo & sour cream , used white wine vinegar because I didn't have rice vinegar . I also used dried onions . What I did was add a little olive oil to a tin pan added the rest of the ingredients , they sat for a bit while I cooked the rest of the meal . Then put them on the BBQ to warm them up . We were having Med. seasoned fish and baked potatoes it went perfect with them . So thanks for the recipe to inspire me .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I'm not a tomato lover but I really liked this salad. I was surprised how well the flavors worked. I used frozen corn (thawed) because I didn't have any fresh and I used dried currents instead of the raisins. I'll definitely make it again. I'd love to try it with fresh corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Love, love, love this salad. It is so different. The raisins are a must. Sounds weird, I know but make it to the recipe and you will be surprised how great it is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Didn't add the raisins and used light sour cream and a reduced amount of olive oil mayo. Was wonderful with fresh sweet summer corn...will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elfie789

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I found the onions a bit over powering so I subbed jicama. I also added mozz balls b/c I love cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Another great recipe for a vegatarian daughter in a house full of meat lovers. I grilled the corn in foil w/EEO and salt/peppers since I was grilling chicken for other family members. Also didn't use raisins. Family really liked it, great summer dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Very good recipe. The only change I will make the next time I make it, is to saute the corn a few minutes. This really is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Had a few ears of corn I needed to use up PLUS I had some leftover green salad I needed to use...I mixed the corn salad together and tossed it with the salad to make a sorta "slaw" very tasty dressing, next time I will make it just as the recipe states!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoppingbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley_Quick_Fix
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Nice! I sliced my tomatoes into mini disks, and subbed in cider vinegar & green onion. I also added chopped cucumber. would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_Quick_Fix

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This was a sweet surprise! I thought it sounded odd but what to do with all those cherry tomatoes? So I made it and it was really good! Yes, I was a little worried about the raisins but we loved them so much , I might add more next time! Very refreshing on a hot day and a great add to a summer cook out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dizawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States