Creamy Cheesy Scrambled Eggs with Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Very good. Received recipe this morning and decided to make for brunch. I did not have sour cream, but I substituted plain yogurt, which worked except it made the eggs 'weep' a bit on the plate. Cut fresh basil from my garden and fixed dish in no time. My husband even liked it and he seldom will eat eggs not fried or simply scrambled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I added tomatoes which was a mistake. Not only did it get really watery, but it made the eggs kind of curdle. I tasted great, but didn't look so pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This egg recipe was only okay. I was not very awake when making this and almost forgot the cheese. I added shredded Italian blend cheese to the pan when the eggs were mostly cooked. I also used 1 tsp of dried basil, since that's what I had on hand. I doubt I make this again--it was NOT spectacular in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Very tasty. Out of curiosity, tried this as an alternative to my usual scrambled eggs, because this is somewhat similar. I will stick with my recipe, however, because the results are at least as good without all of the cholesterol. You can replace at least half of the eggs with silky (soft) tofu, cutting the fat content drastically. I use cheddar (fat-free is okay and more healthful) instead of mozzarella for the added flavor, and I use more fresh basil, preferably without mincing it. As an option, avocado and mushrooms both add a lot. With plenty of cheese and the optional ingredients, you don't even realize that your eggs are really faux scrambled eggs! I also cook them in olive oil instead of butter. In short, mine is not a modification; it is a different recipe with health benefits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Unique Flavor & Welcomed Difference! but think I spoiled the texture by using fat-free sour cream - we enjoyed 'tho - do try this recipe - deelish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I never added sour cream to scrambled eggs but Hubs and I found we enjoyed it. Since there was already mozzarella and fresh basil going on here I added halved grape tomatoes, instantly creating "Eggs Caprese." If you like Caprese salad, you'll like these eggs too. Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by smitty
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
oh my such a great recipe...so tasty...as others i added some onion and garlic for extra flavour (a tad bit of garlic powder and a sliced purple scallion from the garden...and used kraft 4-cheese blend coz that is what i had) well i was impressed...will forsure make it again...LUV IT!!! thanks for sharing the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Made these for a Sunday breakfast and we really enjoyed them. We had just picked up some fresh basil last night, so the basil was just filled with flavor. Had to substitute Monterrey Jack for the mozzarella and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtbiketx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trophy Club, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Found this while looking for something different for our usual Sunday morning brunch. Followed the recipe except that I used 5 cheese Italian because I had just about 1/2 cup left from another dish earlier in the week. At the end, I stirred in the basil (not quite a tablespoon), sprinkled the top with shredded sharp cheddar as another reviewer suggested, turned off the stove, and covered the skillet with a lid just long enough for the cheddar to melt. My husband really liked it and so did I. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
i was looking for something to jazz up my usual eggs, but this didn't really do it for me. thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mothertameka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Lobster Scrambled Eggs

Watch Chef John make scrumptious scrambled eggs with leftover lobster meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States