Creamy Cheese Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I made this for an office potluck - I just put the spread into the crockpot on low- once it was melted together I turned it down to warm and it was awesome! I had slices of crusty bread for everyone to dip with. The office loved it!! I got 10 requests for the recipe that day. Then I made it for a football party and even the men were raving about it! I added about 1/3 envelope of Knorr vegetable soup mix to the recipe and added some more cheese :) - for a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
I had this last week at a small party. I couldn't stop eating them!!! I found the recipe here and just made it for an informal dinner party and what a hit it was!!!! And EASY!!!! It can't get any easier. I, also, used a bit of this and made stuffed mushrooms with it. They were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
I can't stop making this recipe! It is great. My husband loves the original recipe and I make my with added chopped tomatoes and mozzarella cheese instead of swiss. Either way this is a keeper!! Next time I might even try adding some real bacon bits just for a different taste....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Love it! Ok, so I told my hubby french bread, he heard texas toast. I used it anyway and we were blown away. I'm terrible with a broiler and burn everything so I decided to bake this at 400 and it was perfect. The cheese melted and got a little toasty on top and the toast was browned on the bottom and the middle was nice and soft. Really fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I was so excited to see this recipe! I have been making these for parties for about 2 years. The one thing that REALLY makes special these though is to add diced bell pepper to the top before baking. Dice the bell pepper VERY fine, and just sprinkle a few (maybe 4 or 5) pieces on the top of the little toasts (I use a skinny baguette loaf sliced up) before baking. For a holiday party it is pretty to dice up red and green bell peppers! I bake these in a 400 degree oven for about 10 or 15 minutes. The spread can be made ahead a couple of days and kept in the fridge. I have also gone ahead and spread it on the bread slices, topped it with the peppers, and placed them all on a cookie sheet covered with plastic wrap in the fridge for a few hours. Great make-ahead party snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
delicious, quite easy, and very fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I thought this was very good. Mixed it all the night before and added about 1/2 teaspoon minced garlic to it. We then assembled it the next day right before we baked it. I would have liked a bit more cheese, but that could be my fault; I just eye balled it instead of measuring it in a measuring cup. I will be making this again. Oh, I brought it to work, assembled it and threw it in the toaster oven at 350 for about 7 minutes and then toasted it so that it got nice and brown on top. Coworkers loved it and I had to give them the recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue eyed CC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Hubby loved it, but next time I think I will add some finely chopped onions to the mix. Also, I used Miracle Whip...oops! I won't do that again (real mayo only)! I made with fat free everything and with a whole wheat french roll-yummy!! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINK75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Maumee, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
These were really good. Very flavorful, super easy, and quick to prepare. There were four of us and the whole batch was gone in less than 5 minutes. The next time I make them I might try toasting the underside of the bread before spreading and broiling the topping on the other side. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Yum! It was definitely creamy and I like the flavor the Italian seasoning gave it. I like to try a new bread every time I make a pasta dish but this one will stay on my favorites. There is a distinct mayonnaise flavor for anyone who may not be a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Fig Brulee with Burrata Cheese

See how to make a quick and easy “burnt” fig appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States