Creamy Cheddar Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
This is a great soup. I used low sodium broth (boxed)and left the soup unblended. It was great with the pieces of onion in it. I know it's not Fall yet, but it sounded so good I tried it in August. My family really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
This is a winner! Use New York State Sharp Cheddar, which is worth the extra few pennies. I also used low-sodium broth, since the cheese tends to be a bit salty. You can always add more salt if you prefer, but it's better to start low and work up! Thanks for a terrific soup that is worthy of company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
After getting 3 cavities filled, this made a comforting dinner that was easy to prepare. Only word of advice is turn the heat down when you add the onions to the butter or they will burn! This is versatile, as I was eating it I was thinking of all the things I could add to it: cubed ham, potatoes, unseasoned croutons, crumbled bacon, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
This milk creamy soup is so yummy, and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
Really really reeeeaally good, so quick to make and it tastes very good! ^___^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
Very comforting and tasty. When I served mine, I put a dollop of sour cream with crumble bacon and a little grated cheese on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
This soup didn't have enough of a cheesy taste for me. I had only bought enough cheese for the recipe, so I had to add a can of campbells nacho cheese soup to the pot. This wasnt the flavor that I was hoping for, but it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This is exactly the recipe I was looking for. I added croutons to eat with it and my two-year-old son added a foil candy wrapper (then ran away from me). I think his contribution is an aquired taste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I've made this a few times, and I could never get it really creamy until I used velveeta. It's a wonderful soup, and I will make it for years to come, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
I followed the others advice and did not blend the soup, and used velveeta, and it turned out great. It is a little thin at first, but thickens the longer you let simmer. I put it in a rye bread bowl, yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States