Creamy Cheddar Beef Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I fried the onions with the hamburger. My family LOVED this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaelynnM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I thought it was great, didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Followed the recipe exactly...except for the refried beans because I forgot to buy some. I'm usually one to make changes to a recipe as I cook because I feel that it is lacking something but this wasn't. It was so easy I will DEFINITELY be making it again. It is a nice, tasty change to the typical taco night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I made this except I used cream cheese rather than cottage cheese. I found the end result to be quit bland and the filling resembled vomit. Good thing its wrapped in tortillas. The canned beans overwhelmed the flavor of the meat. Luckily I had green chili on hand to spice it up. Wont make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
(This is my first time reviewing/commenting!) We LOVE this recipe and I love Allrecipes because I can read peoples feedback and suggestions/changes that they like to do. That being the case, I wanted to share what I like to do with this recipe! I make it slightly different each time with one or all of these changes. First, I always do this recipe casserole style because I can't stand rolling enchiladas(personal problem!), and always I use corn tortillas. I find flour gets a little soggy and if you are trying to go gluten-free, this will solve the tortilla problem. Here are the other things I do: I usually use ground turkey instead of beef. Only because I have it on hand more than beef. Sometimes I use quinoa instead of rice. I double the beans and use whole beans, using either pinto, black, or a mix. Sometimes I add a can of chilies and sometimes I use "hot" taco seasoning. After my first time making it I found the onions to be a bit crunchy so I either cook them with the meat or pre-cook them on the side in the microwave or in a pan. To bake, I spray the bottom of a 9x11 pan then put a layer of corn tortillas (takes 5, 3 of which I cut in half to put the straight side on the edges), 1/2 the meat mix, 2/3 of the sauce/sour cream mix, another layer of tortillas, remaining meat mix, remaining sauce mix, all shredded cheese. Baking time is just a little longer. Then top how you like (olives, green onions, tomatoes, cilantro, etc.). Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
My husband loved them! It definitely needs fresh toppings before serving though such as diced tomato, some black olives, lettuce, and/or fresh diced onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Amero
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recipe. I'm rating this a 4 because my daughter thought it was absolutely delicious, and I thought it was okay. In fact, my daughter said she'd rate it a 10 on a scale of 1 to 10. I made it almost exactly as specified, except I made my own enchilada sauce. I think that, for my taste, the filling was too busy (too much going on between the tastes of the rice, beans, meat and cottage cheese). Next time I make enchiladas, I will focus on the taste of the sauce and make simple bean and cheese or cheese enchiladas. That said, I can see why many people enjoy this--it's a hearty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Stein

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Oh wow. Fantastic recipe, but OHHHHH so filling. I was stuffed after eating HALF of one of these! I was skeptical about using cottage cheese in a Mexican dish, but it definitely added and we all loved it. My teenage son DEVOURED it. One little note of confusion - I am not sure how you would expect 10 enchiladas to fill up two 9x13 pans? I used 8 tortillas (because that's what was in the pack I bought) and it was just right for one pan. Yes, I had filling leftover, but it will make a heavenly taco salad tomorrow. If I had 10 tortillas, I think it would have made and odd mess in an extra pan. Loved the recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
We loved this. We love mexican food and we try a lot of different recipes. I added a cup of sour cream to the enchilada sauce prior to pouring on top to make it creamy. I also used black beans instead of refried beans just because that is what I had. We topped with fresh cut tomatos, and some shredded lettuce at the table. So, so good. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States