Creamy Cheddar Beef Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I thought it was great, didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Followed the recipe exactly...except for the refried beans because I forgot to buy some. I'm usually one to make changes to a recipe as I cook because I feel that it is lacking something but this wasn't. It was so easy I will DEFINITELY be making it again. It is a nice, tasty change to the typical taco night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I made this except I used cream cheese rather than cottage cheese. I found the end result to be quit bland and the filling resembled vomit. Good thing its wrapped in tortillas. The canned beans overwhelmed the flavor of the meat. Luckily I had green chili on hand to spice it up. Wont make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
(This is my first time reviewing/commenting!) We LOVE this recipe and I love Allrecipes because I can read peoples feedback and suggestions/changes that they like to do. That being the case, I wanted to share what I like to do with this recipe! I make it slightly different each time with one or all of these changes. First, I always do this recipe casserole style because I can't stand rolling enchiladas(personal problem!), and always I use corn tortillas. I find flour gets a little soggy and if you are trying to go gluten-free, this will solve the tortilla problem. Here are the other things I do: I usually use ground turkey instead of beef. Only because I have it on hand more than beef. Sometimes I use quinoa instead of rice. I double the beans and use whole beans, using either pinto, black, or a mix. Sometimes I add a can of chilies and sometimes I use "hot" taco seasoning. After my first time making it I found the onions to be a bit crunchy so I either cook them with the meat or pre-cook them on the side in the microwave or in a pan. To bake, I spray the bottom of a 9x11 pan then put a layer of corn tortillas (takes 5, 3 of which I cut in half to put the straight side on the edges), 1/2 the meat mix, 2/3 of the sauce/sour cream mix, another layer of tortillas, remaining meat mix, remaining sauce mix, all shredded cheese. Baking time is just a little longer. Then top how you like (olives, green onions, tomatoes, cilantro, etc.). Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
My husband loved them! It definitely needs fresh toppings before serving though such as diced tomato, some black olives, lettuce, and/or fresh diced onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Amero
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recipe. I'm rating this a 4 because my daughter thought it was absolutely delicious, and I thought it was okay. In fact, my daughter said she'd rate it a 10 on a scale of 1 to 10. I made it almost exactly as specified, except I made my own enchilada sauce. I think that, for my taste, the filling was too busy (too much going on between the tastes of the rice, beans, meat and cottage cheese). Next time I make enchiladas, I will focus on the taste of the sauce and make simple bean and cheese or cheese enchiladas. That said, I can see why many people enjoy this--it's a hearty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Stein

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Oh wow. Fantastic recipe, but OHHHHH so filling. I was stuffed after eating HALF of one of these! I was skeptical about using cottage cheese in a Mexican dish, but it definitely added and we all loved it. My teenage son DEVOURED it. One little note of confusion - I am not sure how you would expect 10 enchiladas to fill up two 9x13 pans? I used 8 tortillas (because that's what was in the pack I bought) and it was just right for one pan. Yes, I had filling leftover, but it will make a heavenly taco salad tomorrow. If I had 10 tortillas, I think it would have made and odd mess in an extra pan. Loved the recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
We loved this. We love mexican food and we try a lot of different recipes. I added a cup of sour cream to the enchilada sauce prior to pouring on top to make it creamy. I also used black beans instead of refried beans just because that is what I had. We topped with fresh cut tomatos, and some shredded lettuce at the table. So, so good. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
One pan fed three adults and three children. It makes so much more than I expected. I guess I didn't see two pans in the recipe until I was halfway into it. But it was well received by everyone but one very picky eater. I think next time I'll add a little salsa or maybe just chopped tomatoes as a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States