Creamy Cheddar Beef Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
(This is my first time reviewing/commenting!) We LOVE this recipe and I love Allrecipes because I can read peoples feedback and suggestions/changes that they like to do. That being the case, I wanted to share what I like to do with this recipe! I make it slightly different each time with one or all of these changes. First, I always do this recipe casserole style because I can't stand rolling enchiladas(personal problem!), and always I use corn tortillas. I find flour gets a little soggy and if you are trying to go gluten-free, this will solve the tortilla problem. Here are the other things I do: I usually use ground turkey instead of beef. Only because I have it on hand more than beef. Sometimes I use quinoa instead of rice. I double the beans and use whole beans, using either pinto, black, or a mix. Sometimes I add a can of chilies and sometimes I use "hot" taco seasoning. After my first time making it I found the onions to be a bit crunchy so I either cook them with the meat or pre-cook them on the side in the microwave or in a pan. To bake, I spray the bottom of a 9x11 pan then put a layer of corn tortillas (takes 5, 3 of which I cut in half to put the straight side on the edges), 1/2 the meat mix, 2/3 of the sauce/sour cream mix, another layer of tortillas, remaining meat mix, remaining sauce mix, all shredded cheese. Baking time is just a little longer. Then top how you like (olives, green onions, tomatoes, cilantro, etc.). Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I fried the onions with the hamburger. My family LOVED this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaelynnM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I thought it was great, didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I really like this recipe, it has so much in it, plenty to choose from I made it with out the cottage cheese but I did try it with rice and I liked it. I also put in the garlic ..something I rarely use in Mexican food but again I liked it. Sometimes I find that a whole package of Taco seasoning it too much when fixing enchiladas, it's ok for tacos when you're putting in a smaller amour of meat, so I just added 1 TBS then followed the recipe as written. I served this with a fruit salad and everyone liked it, so easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Photo by Jex
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I really didn't know what to expect with this recipe, but it was good! The only thing I did different was add a little cream cheese to the filling for the kiddo. We tasted it before that and it is great as-is. My three-year-old ate an entire serving which makes this 5 stars based on that alone. May not be a favorite for those who aren't fans of sour cream, but we really enjoyed it!! I will experiment with it a little going forward. We suspect chicken would be great in place of the ground beef, and we will top with chopped veggies next time. ----> Edit to add: This recipe does make enough filling to create another pan for the freezer. I didn't assemble the second pan the first night. Instead, I froze the filling alone. My family requested these enchiladas again, the very next night. I defrosted the filling partially in the microwave, then put it in a large pot and heated on low until it was totally thawed. I added whole kernal corn to really bulk it up and about half cup additional cheese. I filled each tortilla with a generous half-cup of filling each and was able to get 6 enchiladas in a pan both nights I made this. I swapped out the cheddar for a blend: Monterey Jack, Cheddar, Queso Quesadilla & Asadero cheeses. The last five minutes of cook time, I topped with fresh onion, olives, and tomato. Yummy! This was great!! It really is VERY versatile, and I maintain that chicken would be a fantastic alternative to beef. I would consider fajita beans in place of refries also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
My husband just LOVED this recipe ! I made exactly as is !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wickie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reedsburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Made this for dinner when we had company the other night. The feedback was "this is better than any enchiladas I've had at the top Mexican restaurants." I think that says it all. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Amazing! I made this as is using hot red enchilada sauce. I also made the rice per package directions by mistake and it still turned out great. I cooked 5 and froze 5 for later. Cooked both batches in disposable aluminum pans for super easy clean up. Fat Free Refried beans and reduced fat cheese and sour cream were easy subs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Kay Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This is my first time rating a recipe - had to do it because my son called it "epic" and my other kids couldn't get enough of it too! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
We loved this. We love mexican food and we try a lot of different recipes. I added a cup of sour cream to the enchilada sauce prior to pouring on top to make it creamy. I also used black beans instead of refried beans just because that is what I had. We topped with fresh cut tomatos, and some shredded lettuce at the table. So, so good. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States