Creamy Celery Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Delicious and easy. Made it a meal-in-one by adding chicken breasts (3 large, chopped, cooked) to the celery before baking it in a 9x13. I added fresh mushrooms at the beginning instead of canned, and skipped the pimentos, as I didn't have any of them. My family of 6 loved it, but I could have added 50% to the recipe and still not had enough. Yep, the 3 of the 4 kids are teens...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I love it. I believe I put a lil bit too much bread crumbs but the taste was amazing, the texture perfect and It was beautiful to the eye. It was a complete meal. Will do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrewCrew
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Really easy and yummy! I would add some black pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I really dislike celery, but at the end of the month, sometimes it is the only veggie that we have left, so I put it to use. I was pleasantly surprised with this recipe and actually ate more of it than the kids (who like celery) did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This was very good! I only put a small amount of the butter in but next time will completely omit it. I think chicken would be a great addition to this as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I had to used up a bunch of celery from the CSA and this was a great way! Subbed out milk for soy milk, green chiles for pimento and no mushrooms. Also placed some cooked/sliced chicken breast at the bottom of the casserole dish. Overall a great dish but next time I will cut the butter way down and maybe even leave it out completely from the bread crumbs (sub with a little bit of evoo).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was a great side. The only thing i did different was I did not put in pimento, because I did not have them on hand. And, instead of bread crumbs I topped with french fried onions, because I had a can already opened. My husband said he'd rather have this side dish instead of the tradional green bean bake. Thank you for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newhall, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I used gluten-free flour and breadcrumbs, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. It's certainly easy and it turned out delicious! I'm sure I will be making this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
We really like celery in this house but I prefer it cooked so this recipe hits the spot. The only changes I made were to accommodate our tastes and that is use fresh mushroom and red peppers. Thanks for a good side dish which will get used often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Too salty!!! I was very skeptical about a celery casserole, but was pleasantly surprised by the flavor; however, it was WAY too salty for my taste. I think I could have omitted the salt completely and it would have been much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Creamy Celery Root Mash

See how to make a quick, creamy vegetable side dish.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States