Creamy Carrot With Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Very good. Don't be afraid of the curry - it gives a nice subtle flavor that is delicious in this soup. I added other orange-fleshed vegetables - sweet potatoes and pumpkin. I left out the half and half. It was so good and it cooked pretty quickly. It freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
i made this soup for about 400 persons and all i have gotten was that i have to make it again as even the staff loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Wainwright, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I added a little garam masala and cardamom. Turned out great. Would have been even better with some fresh cilantro sprinkled on top. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
WOOOWW!! DELICIOUS!! I followed a review and added ground nutmeg, black pepper, cumin and ground cinamonn. YUMMY!!! It's really good and tasty. --------------------- I made this soup again, it's like the 5th time I make it. I'm giving it as an appetizer for Thanksgiving dinner. I made it for a friend and she described it as: "a party of flavors".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NCRAN
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I made this soup late last night for dinner today and it smelled so good that my husband and I had to have some as soon as it was done! If you love curry..and I love me some curry.. this soup is for you! I basically followed the whole recipe, except I added about 1 1/2 tablespoons of Curry powder and a 1/2 tablespoon of Garam Masala (sp?).. I think without the Garam Masala it might have been lacking some depth of flavor...it adds a nice spicy taste (more of an earthy spicy not heat) .. if you don't have Garam on hand you could try adding some ground cinnamon, ground nutmeg, cumin and black pepper.. I also used 1 percent organic milk instead of the half and half. And just a warning.. this soup is spicy! But in a good way..not an overpowering spicy where you can't taste anything. I will definitely be making this again... maybe tonight ;) I might add some butternut squash next time.. I took a picture of the soup and I will upload soon :) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCRAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clementon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This soup is delicious. I used my food processor to slice the carrots and onions. I used some homemade turkey broth and homemade chicken broth. This recipe is definately a keeper, I always have the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I added a peeled, cored, and chopped Granny Smith apple. It really complemented the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
My husband and his guy friends raved about this soup. It's pretty easy, as soups go. Due to a dairy alergy, I substituted soy milk for cream, and it still tasted very smooth and rich. I also added a tsp ground cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Need something to warm the soul and tantalize your taste buds? Then you've found it in this soup. I made this soup as an appetizer to Thanksgiving dinner this year(which my family has never done before, "an appetizer for Thanksgiving"? I was asked, and everyone from the kids to the grandparents loved it. The subtle not overpowering use of curry is nice and the chopped pistachios give it that elegant touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I made this soup with toasted whole grain bread on the side, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States