Creamy Carrot With Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by NCRAN
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I made this soup late last night for dinner today and it smelled so good that my husband and I had to have some as soon as it was done! If you love curry..and I love me some curry.. this soup is for you! I basically followed the whole recipe, except I added about 1 1/2 tablespoons of Curry powder and a 1/2 tablespoon of Garam Masala (sp?).. I think without the Garam Masala it might have been lacking some depth of flavor...it adds a nice spicy taste (more of an earthy spicy not heat) .. if you don't have Garam on hand you could try adding some ground cinnamon, ground nutmeg, cumin and black pepper.. I also used 1 percent organic milk instead of the half and half. And just a warning.. this soup is spicy! But in a good way..not an overpowering spicy where you can't taste anything. I will definitely be making this again... maybe tonight ;) I might add some butternut squash next time.. I took a picture of the soup and I will upload soon :) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCRAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clementon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
WOOOWW!! DELICIOUS!! I followed a review and added ground nutmeg, black pepper, cumin and ground cinamonn. YUMMY!!! It's really good and tasty. --------------------- I made this soup again, it's like the 5th time I make it. I'm giving it as an appetizer for Thanksgiving dinner. I made it for a friend and she described it as: "a party of flavors".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
I love puréed carrot soup, and I was looking for an alternative to the usual ginger/carrot combination. I think the curry worked well with the carrots, but I will reduce the amount of curry next time. I don't have a high tolerance for spicy food, so it was a little too much for me. If you like spicy food, then this should be fine. I used regular milk instead of the half and half and it seemed to dilute the soup to a nice consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Fantastic recipe! We changed it up a bit by adding another 1/4 lb of carrots, 3 extra cloves of garlic. Mixed 1/4 tsp of cayenne with the curry before. Replaced 1 cup of orange juice for 1 cup of chicken broth. Turned out absolutely incredible, it had a subtle spicy flavor that wasnt even overpowering to my 7 yr old. We plan to make this quite often in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I added a peeled, cored, and chopped Granny Smith apple. It really complemented the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I made this soup with toasted whole grain bread on the side, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
This was a very good soup but ended up a bit thicker than I wanted. Easy to make and everyone enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
My husband and his guy friends raved about this soup. It's pretty easy, as soups go. Due to a dairy alergy, I substituted soy milk for cream, and it still tasted very smooth and rich. I also added a tsp ground cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Very good. Don't be afraid of the curry - it gives a nice subtle flavor that is delicious in this soup. I added other orange-fleshed vegetables - sweet potatoes and pumpkin. I left out the half and half. It was so good and it cooked pretty quickly. It freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I added a little garam masala and cardamom. Turned out great. Would have been even better with some fresh cilantro sprinkled on top. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States