Creamy Carrot With Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by NCRAN
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I made this soup late last night for dinner today and it smelled so good that my husband and I had to have some as soon as it was done! If you love curry..and I love me some curry.. this soup is for you! I basically followed the whole recipe, except I added about 1 1/2 tablespoons of Curry powder and a 1/2 tablespoon of Garam Masala (sp?).. I think without the Garam Masala it might have been lacking some depth of flavor...it adds a nice spicy taste (more of an earthy spicy not heat) .. if you don't have Garam on hand you could try adding some ground cinnamon, ground nutmeg, cumin and black pepper.. I also used 1 percent organic milk instead of the half and half. And just a warning.. this soup is spicy! But in a good way..not an overpowering spicy where you can't taste anything. I will definitely be making this again... maybe tonight ;) I might add some butternut squash next time.. I took a picture of the soup and I will upload soon :) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCRAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clementon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This soup is delicious. I used my food processor to slice the carrots and onions. I used some homemade turkey broth and homemade chicken broth. This recipe is definately a keeper, I always have the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I added a peeled, cored, and chopped Granny Smith apple. It really complemented the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
My husband and his guy friends raved about this soup. It's pretty easy, as soups go. Due to a dairy alergy, I substituted soy milk for cream, and it still tasted very smooth and rich. I also added a tsp ground cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Need something to warm the soul and tantalize your taste buds? Then you've found it in this soup. I made this soup as an appetizer to Thanksgiving dinner this year(which my family has never done before, "an appetizer for Thanksgiving"? I was asked, and everyone from the kids to the grandparents loved it. The subtle not overpowering use of curry is nice and the chopped pistachios give it that elegant touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I made this soup with toasted whole grain bread on the side, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
I love puréed carrot soup, and I was looking for an alternative to the usual ginger/carrot combination. I think the curry worked well with the carrots, but I will reduce the amount of curry next time. I don't have a high tolerance for spicy food, so it was a little too much for me. If you like spicy food, then this should be fine. I used regular milk instead of the half and half and it seemed to dilute the soup to a nice consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
This was a very good soup but ended up a bit thicker than I wanted. Easy to make and everyone enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-58 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States