Creamy Carrot With Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This was lovely. It was the first time that I had ever tasted carrot soup, and I didn't quite know what to expect, but I am now a big fan. I substituted 1/2 tablespoon of the curry for an equal amount of garam marsala, put in an extra 3 cloves of garlic and a tart apple but otherwise followed the recipe, and the soup was a wonderful blend of sweet and deep, mellow spicy. I ate it with garlic bread and it was perfect together. Really, the only negative thing is that - for me at least - it took a lot longer to both saute and simmer the carrots until tender than the recipe states. About twice as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Køge, Sjælland, Denmark
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Very good and easy to make. As others mentioned, it is spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Yes, this was delicious, used 1 Tbls. Garam Masala and 1 Tbls. Curry, 1 C 2% milk. otherwise the same. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I thought it was awesome. I made a few changes based on dietary restrictions and preferences but pretty much stuck to the recipe. I added a cored, diced apple. I used coconut oil instead of butter. I also left out the sugar and used whole milk rather than half and half. Next time I would love to use light coconut milk. Nothing like the coconut curry combo. Thanks for the great recipe, as I too was looking for something more than a light summery carrot soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
My proportions were totally off (only had 1/2 of the carrots on hand and used 2/3 of the stock and probably 3/4 of curry), but it was still incredibly delicious! Just ate two bowls by myself. ;) And the other reviewers are right - this is so rich, delicious and creamy, it doesn't need any cream or milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Zamorska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
After reading some reviews, I used 1 Tbsp curry powder and 1 Tbsp garam masala and WOW! TEN STARS if I could. Easy to make using cheap ingredients and delicious! This dish is spicy, but not tearing-and- sweating-into-your-food spicy. More like an "OH my this is too spicy..... wait........ YUM! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Thanks, this was an easy recipe. I used 20 oz carrots instead of 24 oz and 2 onions since that's what I had. It had a good flavor, but sorry, it did taste a little like baby food with milk, as another reviewer said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
We really enjoy this soup as do our guests but because it seemed a bit too sweet I add 1/2 cup fresh orange juice. Gives it a lovely flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I used the suggestions of adding the cinnamon/nutmeg/pepper/cumin mix and substituted 1 can of coconut milk for the half-and-half. I thought it was pretty good, but still missing a note on my palette - so I blended in about 1/4 c. of roasted pistachios. It was nice, but OMG, after it sat in the fridge for a day, it was AWESOME and wasn't missing anything, so I would highly recommend making it in advance and then reheating. This will be a definite staple in my soup repertoire!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Delicious. I also added 1tsp of garam masala. It was a great, light, dish that even my 20 month old loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilysmommy

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States