Creamy Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This was ok but kind of bland. I added a bit more dill and even a dash of cinnamon to make it more exciting - which helped - but I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shawn Roque
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Love it. Great recipe. I like to add some elbow macaroni to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This is a very good recipe and I enjoyed it. I would recommend using slightly less dill, but a good combination overall. My family of 3 recently had a cooking "competition", and I used this recipe. It was perfect because there was 1 cup for each of us, enough to taste. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabe Heaney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edina, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This soup was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This recipe is absolutely fantastic! even without the heavy cream it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Delicious and easy recipe! Substituted lowfat coconut milk for the heavy cream and doubled the recipe, as others had suggested. Could've actually tripled the recipe and still not have quite enough. Plan to make it again later in the week, since I bought a big bag of carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I made this soup as written with the exception of the fresh dill. I did not have any on hand so I used dried dill. NOT the same! It still tastes pretty good but the colour is way off (it is darker with a lot of green dill speckles in it). If you are going to use dried dill, reduce the amount of dill called for in the recipe. I would make this again but I would definitely use fresh dill. I might try it with the coconut milk too as other reviewers have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Just made this recipe tonight, but had to up the ingredients a bit since I had to feed 6 people. I actually used 2 lbs. of carrots, 1/4 cup chopped dill and 6 cups chicken stock instead of the vegetable stock, and everything else was x4. It came out very creamy and just outstanding! I had never tasted carrot soup before. There was just a hint of the dill, not overpowering and it really is one of the "secret" ingredients to making this soup great. We ate it with regular old Saltine crackers and my teen age kids loved it, even having seconds...thirds too (daughter). I will definately be keeping this recipe and making it again. Can't wait to introduce it to dinner guests maybe as a side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Delicious recipe! To make it a bit healthier, I substituted 1.5 Tbl of Smart Balance Light instead of butter, and used whole milk for heavy cream (and it still tasted sensational). I didn't have fresh dill on hand, but 1 tsp dried was sufficient. Also, rather than taking the time to grate the ginger root I simply peeled a large chunk and let it simmer with the rest of the ingredients, then discarded it before pureeing the mixture - this yielded the desired flavor but saved a bit of work. I simmered the entire mixture for about 30 minutes, adding the dill within the last 10. By simmering the mixture for this long, I did not need to strain the broth. Instead, I let the mixture cool in the fridge, then pureed it with my blender, and followed the last step as it. My final result had a wonderful texture and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I tripled the ginger because we love it. The soup was tasty and classy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lois h

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States