Creamy Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
This soup is very good and healthy. I took advice of other reviewer and used the coconut milk instead of heavy cream, I think it would be really bland without it. The directions said to strain the vegetables and throw away excess vegetable broth?! This makes no sense thats where the vitamins are not to mention I bought good stock and it is not cheap. So I used less broth, I used enough to cover the vegetables which is how it is supposed to be in the end. I actually used half of the stock called for in the recipe. Instead of straining and separating it I did what I always do with this type of soup recipe and used a hand held blender and put it in the pot and zapped the whole lot. Save the vitamins and work!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2001
I found this soup to be absolutely wonderful. Most carrot soups I have made previously have had a strong carrot flavour but this particular soup was mellowed with the addition of potatoes. The dill (I used a 1/4 tps. of dried dill weed,) and the ginger gave the soup a lovely delicate flavour and it is a soup I would heartily recommend. Love this website!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I made this recipe for an Iron Chef party, and I received the second highest number of votes. I hate ginger, but it was the "secret" ingredient so I didn't have a choice. I found this recipe and was pleasantly surprised by the outcome. The ginger wasn't overwhelming and the dill was a great accent. I tripled the recipe and added two tablespoons of brown sugar, as well as a teaspoon of chili powder to spice it up a little (I also took the advice of someone on the website and used coconut milk instead.) I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
Wow, this was so amazing. I added coconut milk instead, which turned out devine. Everyone who has tried my soup has raved about it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
MAKE THIS LOWER IN FAT AND VEGAN by using light coconut milk instead of heavy cream. The coconut milk is lovely with the ginger. I tried it because we're vegan but it sounded like a great recipe and it turned out great! This was a very nice soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This recipe is great! Here's what I did: 1) quadrupled everything except for the broth. 2) substituted chicken broth for veg broth, rosemary for dill, and ground ginger for fresh. 3) also added cinnamon as one reviewer suggested. 4) did not discard any of the broth. It turned out excellent, and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I followed some of the review ideas, and doubled the ginger root, and used lowfat coconut milk. I added a pinch of cinnamon too. I used sour cream to garnish. It was by far one of the best soups I have made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RYANJENN
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
we really enjoyed this soup, it was not hard to make however it does not make very much, next time I'll double or triple it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RYANJENN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lachute, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
what i changed: -used only 1/2 the broth -coconut milk instead of cream -cilantro instead of dill -added a little cayenne for some spice delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
Absolutely Fantastic Soup! Add a little bit of extra ginger and ease up just a little on the dill, and it is absolutely perfect!!!! Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States