Creamy Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Oh wow!! This soup is to die for!!! I substituted coconut milk for the cream as someone else suggested and used about 2 1/2 - 3 cups of veg broth (didn't throw any away) Definitely will make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Carrot soup just doesn't get any better than this. The dill and the ginger really take the flavors to the next level. I use soy milk and serve with a dollop of non-dairy sour cream to keep this dish vegan & the most healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This was the first time I have made carrot soup so can't compare to other recipes, but I thought it was delicious! I doubled the recipe and used evaporated milk instead of cream, and dried dill (about 1 tsp) , otherwise everything else was the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nobel, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Very good and fun to make. I quadrupled the recipe but only used 2 cups of broth like many suggested and replaced a cup of the carrots for a cup of celery. I also added cayenne and maybe a bit too much, it was really spicy but I like a dollop (or more) of sour cream and that cuts the heat. I would have cut the dill in half, it kind of over-powered the soup. I think a covering of dill as a garnish would have been enough and more presentable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Louisville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Excellent carrot soup recipe! I didn't have potatoes and therefore left them out, adding more carrots instead. I only added enough broth to cover the carrots and once softened, blended the whole thing. I substituted half and half for cream. I will make this again, but play around with the spice amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Excellent with the coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SketchyRecipe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I used dry dill seed instead of fresh, and changed the cream to soy milk. This turned out very tasty, especially on a cold day! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I used coconut milk instead of heavy cream, a bit less dill than requested, and doubled the recipe... It was super. Really tasty and filling, and there were barely any leftovers! And, if you like chunky soups, I didn't puree the veggies all the way, and the texture was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I tried this soup and immediately made another batch to freeze for later. I used a can of light coconut milk and it was just delicious. This soup tastes like a breath of fresh air.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIA22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I had a lot of carrots to use, so I did as some suggested and quadrupled the recipe but stayed with the original rec for broth and did not discard. To reduce the sodium, I made my own vegetable broth with boullion, and used a low sodium butter substitute, as well substituted the cream with low fat coconut milk. I also added some sweet red pepper. I don't like dill, so I added half rosemary / half cilantro as others had noted and a lot of cayenne and black pepper as well as some cinnamon. I would also add much more ginger next time, but overall, an excellent fall soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States