Creamy Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
My toddler and I loved this! I am not a big fan of rosemary though, so will leave it out next time though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canby, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This soup was amazing! The only change I made was substituting the heavy cream for 1% milk and an 8oz container of fat free cream cheese. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I hate to be a negative person here but I thought the recipe - which I followed exactly - was pretty bland. The copious amount of heavy cream and the added potato kinda covered up the taste of the carrots. People gave it high ratings but almost everyone added their own spin to make it taste good. I would tweak it in the future of try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This soup is AMAZING! I had a cream of carrot soup for the first time a few years back at a top-of-the-line restaurant, and have been on the hunt for a comparable soup ever since, and this soup is even better. I am a big spice and pepper fan, so I probably put in more like 1/2 tsp of pepper. It gives it more of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This was great and I am not much of a fan of carrots. I hate raw carrots but can tolerate them cooked. I did not use 1/4 cup butter, I only used about a tablespoon to help cut calories. I also used fat free half and half instead of heavy whipping cream, since I had the half & half on hand. It still turned out great. I did make one mistake however, I forgot the recipe steps and put the rosemary in while the soup was simmering instead of at the end. It made the rosemary taste more noticeable, so if you don't want a strong rosemary taste, add it at the end like the recipe states. Also, if you don't want to puree the soup with a hand immersion blender, you can eat it just as it is. I actually halved it and had it both ways, one a puree, the other more like a stew minus the meat. It was great either way. This is also a very economical recipe for anyone wanting to save money. I don't buy carrots bagged in plastic, I have found that they are cheaper at the grocery store when you buy them singly by the pound. That way you get just what you need and none go to waste, forgotten in the bottom of your refrigerator. (Besides, I try to avoid food bagged in plastic anyway. Who came up with the idea of putting fresh produce in plastic? I buy all produce sans plastic and carry it in the store on top of my cloth bags in the cart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
My husband loves this recipe! He tells everyone about it. It's a firm favorite in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Although good, this was not really what I was expecting. I was hoping it would be a bit more sweet-savory. I found it bland. Added a bit of salt, garlic powder (which i hate to use - much perfer fresh garlic) and a dash of hot sauce and worchestire sauce. Turned out fine, but I like to make a meal of soup and bread sometimes and this doesn't satisfy in that way. You definately need something to go w/it. I think I'd saute minced garlic w/the onions and add a few more savory ingrediants if I made it again. But, good and wonderfully nutritious w/a few calorie conscious, organic modifications... olive oil and a pat of butter, sweet potato, 1C half & half & 1 C whole milk :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This was the best soup I have ever made! It was so wonderful the first time I made it this week that I had to make it again tonight. I did not have rosemary, so that was omitted. I used fresh ginger, which I really think is what makes this dish so spectacular. I only used half and half, no heavy cream. As other reviewers have said, I'm sure that milk or coconut milk would be just as great. I plan to try this with coconut milk next time. I made enough to freeze this time because this is just so fabulous. I am in a soup swap later in the month, and this will be the soup that I bring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This soup is amazing, I used half & half, and I found it was even better the second day. Enjoy !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
My kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States