Creamy Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was ok. If you add the rosemary make sure it is very fine. I think we would have liked it better without the rosemary. I may make again with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Made this soup today and maybe it was the carrots but this soup had little flavor. The texture was fine but I would spice it up if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Big G likes..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Amazing!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars because I think it is unfair when people rate a recipe with less than that and then have made a completely different recipe...which is sort of what I did. Instead of using a regular potato, I used a sweet potato. I'm not a fan of rosemary, so I went in a different direction with seasoning. I liked the idea of ginger with carrots, which led to also adding other complementary spices. I used 5 spice, cinnamon, red pepper flakes, tarragon,and of course, salt and pepper. I didn't use half and half because of calories, but instead used 2% milk--I consider this a splurge; usually I only have skim on hand. Then, I pressure cooked it all which took only 8 minutes of cooking time. I love that thing. Also, I used an immersion blender. I don't use it often, but for something like this, it's worth its weight in gold. This came out thick and creamy and delicious. I realize that it is a completely different recipe, but I was so thankful for a starting point. What I made is a variation on a theme. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I personally loved this! Subtly sweet and so good! I didn't have a large potato so I used about 5 small yellow new potaoes with skin on. I omitted the rosemary b/c the smell of it in the jar was not what I wanted the soup to turn into. I wanted to keep it sweet. So instead I used a shake of pumpkin pie spice, a shake of red cayenne pepper and a shake of salt in addition to the ginger it called for. Like the recipe suggested I added the other spices at the end, not when I added the ginger. I also used one cup of chicken broth and for the rest used vegetable broth. I substituted the heavy whipping cream for 1 cup of fat free half and half and 1/2 cup of regular half and half and that was enough creaminess for me. I used my immersion/stick blender right in the pot and it worked out perfectly. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Figs5

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This is one of the best things I've put in my mouth in a long time. I stood in the kitchen and rolled it around in my mouth. And that was before the salt and cream. As far as I'm concerned, they're both optional. Try it before adding them -- it tastes completely different. Could bacon make this soup better? Surprisingly, no. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Very flavorful and not too strong of a "carrot" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Im new to cooking and this was my first recipe i decided to try. i was amazed how easy this was to make and how wonderful it tastes! this has become my favorite soup to date!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
So yummy! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States