Creamy Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
What an easy recipe and so naturally sweet! I have to admit that I exchanged the ginger/rosemary for freshly grated nutmeg. Just divine...thanks, Grace!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeaky6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This soup was very good.Used 2 cups of milk not heavy cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Mmmmmm. This is the third carrot soup recipe that I tried here… all good but this is the one that I was looking for. I first tried carrot soup in a Thai restaurant years ago and it tasted just like this. I will definitely make it again and won't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
My wife made this soup recently, and it was the best soup I've ever had! She substituted milk for the cream, as others suggested. She also used half the amount of white potato called for and substituted sweet potato for the rest. The color is bright without tasting too carroty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
The five stars are a reflection of how my soup actually came out rather than the original recipe. The first in my numerous substitutions was the spices. I decided to make a more savory soup by using cumin, coriander, garlic, and cheyenne pepper (all to taste). Though if using cheyenne pepper, keep in mind that leftovers gradually become spicier. To cut down on the fat, I used whole milk instead of cream and tossed in a couple spoonfuls of sour cream. A bit of starch was used to thicken it up to my preferred consistency. Next time I may jazz it up even more by adding in some cheddar cheese. To eliminate the unflattering ring of butter that floated to the top, I'll cut the butter in half and add some olive oil next time. All in all, very excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Perfect as written except that in the interest of cutting calories I used a little butter and olive oil to cook the onions and used 1 cup of heavy cream and 1 cup of 2% milk. Thanks submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sally S.
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This was just delicous! I don't think it even needed the cream, it was so tasty. Next time I will probably omit it and add another cup or so of chicken stock. My toddler loved it too. I added 2 medium baking potatoes instead of just 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Yummy perfect carrot soup. Absolutely gorgeous, even without the cream - I tried subbing milk and that was great - but it's fine without milk too. I didn't have any rosemary or broth, so used dash of ground nutmeg and chicken stock, and it still turned out brilliantly. Would like to make again using the rosemary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxford, Oxfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I found this catagorized under "vegetarian soups" and this is not a vegetarian recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
My wife raved about this soup. It keeps well in the frig too. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States