Creamy Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I have made this recipe twice and I'm making it again tonight. I love the creamy texture and the flavor is wonerful. The key is to make sure you process the cooked carrots thoroughly. I don't have a food processor so I used my blender. The first time I make this, it turned out fine. The second time, I was in a hurry and didn't make sure the carrots were smooth. It made a difference in the texture. The smoother, the better so make sure you process or blend long enough. Also, I recommend letting this soup cook nice and slowly over a longer period of time for a better flavor. A couple hours is good. Kathy, Miami, Florida
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Perfect with 1c. half and half, 1/2c. milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I sauteed onion in olive oil instead of butter. Also, in the interest of low fat, used 2% milk instead of heavy cream. It was a beautiful soup! Will make this one many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary h.
Home Town: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Good soup, but a little bland. If I make this again, I will add more fresh herbs and maybe a little garlic to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This soup was delicious. Powdered ginger is probably more concentrated, but I'm wondering if some fresh would add to the taste. This soup was pretty good without the cream so I'm might leave it out next time. I used yams instead of white potatoes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Encinitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Absolutely delicious. I did not use heavy whipping cream though, only half & half cream. I also added a pinch or so of nutmeg as another reviewer suggested. A great winter soup - bring on the snowy nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Didn't even add the cream! It was already super creamy. Added a little more pepper though. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
My first try at making carrot soup. This was absolutely delicious. Only change I made was 1 cup milk + 1 cup heavy cream instead of the full 2 cups cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I tried to lighten this up a little by using milk instead of cream, and margarine instead of butter, but I think it lacked a richness due to my substitutions. I couldn't get it quite right. I added a dash of cayenne, but then we thought it needed something sweet, so I added a little cinnamon, and then about a tsp of brown sugar. I think next time I will try using sweet potatoes instead of regular potatoes, because I really like the idea of this soup, and with my substitutions, it could be very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was nice to make to have something different to serve at Easter. However, it was time intensive, and no one asked for more than one bowl. It was interesting to eat the first time, but leftovers went to waste. In other words- yummy, but not so yummy that I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States