Creamy Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was really yummy! I used an immersion blender right in the pot and I left a few chunks because I love chunks in my soup. I substituted 1/2 & 1/2 and milk for the heavy cream. I wasn't a huge fan of the rosemary so next time I'll leave it out but I've never liked the taste of rosemary, so no surprise there. I also chopped up avocado and threw that in when I was ready to eat it. Made this soup superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This was really good soup and easy to make too! I used a few more ounces of broth than what the recipe called for. Because some of the broth evaporated during the 30 minute cook time, I had to add a little water to make the veggies easier to blend. I don't care for sweet soup so I left out the ginger and I used half-and-half (because it's what I had). The soup was still super rich and yummy! I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Oh My...this is so good. I had leftovers from Easter and used all my orange glazed carrots and mashed potatoes. It was so easy with this, otherwise I used the recipe except for using a can of evaporated milk for the heavy cream. It was still so rich. I put a dollop of sour cream in each bowl and topped it was fresh chives. It was so pretty and so good. I also used 2 cloves of garlic sauteed with the onions. This was so rich that we had nothing else with it for dinner and served with whole grain dinner rolls. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I have made this a few times now. It's a very good soup! I have made it with milk or half & half instead of the heavy whipping cream and it still tastes wonderful to save a few calories. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This is one of the BEST soup recipes and SO easy! The rosemary is a fantastic addition for just the right undertone of seasoning. The carrots really do have that hint of sweetness when coupled with caramelized onions and slow cooking. I could see also roasting the carrots in the oven for an even deeper flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Sorry but I did not care for this at all. I love carrots and I've had carrot soup a couple of times in restaurants, but this just didn't work out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Delicious and easy to make! I agree with some of the other reviewers, 2 cups of heavy whipping cream was a bit too much, so next time I think I'll try half that and half regular milk. I'm also going to try the nutmeg that some suggested, as I'm not much into the texture of rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Excellent recipe, no need to change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rme109

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I expected this to be a little on the sweet side, but it wasn't at all. I did use milk instead of cream to cut down the fat, and added a stick of celery for flavor. The potato made it a bit thick, so next time I might omit that to cut down the starch, but I will also double the rosemary and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarDuJour

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Absolutely Spectacular. If you want to reduce the calories on it use Almond Milk Orignal Flavor instead of the heavy whipping cream. Both are equally delicious. Thanks for the recipe. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hastings, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States