Creamy Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Here is how NOT to make this recipe: The first time I made it, I poured the sugar syrup into the glass baking dish, and because the glass was cool, the sugar hardened almost immediately. So after I spent the next 30 minutes chipping a rock-hard blob of sugar out of the bottom of my dish, I tried it again. But this time, I put the baking dish in a hot oven for about 5 minutes before adding the sugar. The hot dish kept the sugar liquified just long enough for me to get an even coating. After I learned that trick, the flan turned out very well. I made this for dessert after a Mexican-themed dinner, and everyone really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
698 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I let this flan sit over night in the fridge, but when I flipped it out of the pan the next day, almost all of the caramel stayed in the pan with hardly any of it at all on top of the flan. What am I doing wrong?? Can anybody help me??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
404 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
so good, so creamy! I don't usually care for the regular flan consistency, so I tried this creamy one - oh my so good and so easy. I didn't use their caramel recipe though - too many people seemed to have problems with it. I used a carmel recipe I have (1 small box brown sugar, 1 stick butter, 1 cup half and half, pinch of salt, tsp of vanilla- boil for three minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
320 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
This is my grandmother's recipe. I love it!. Have been making it for years. TIP:I just put all the ingredients in the blender and it makes a very smooth and creamy flan. Great time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
266 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rio Piedras, San Juan, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I havent made this recipe but it is exactly the same as mine, so I bet is the best one on this page!! =D One person said that she poured the caramel in a cold glass baking dish and it hardened immediately, so she had a hard time taking it out and doing it again.. Let me tell you, I have made this recipe for years and sometimes it hardens like u said and theres no problem, since you normally put the flan mixture on top and its going to be cooked in the oven, melting the caramel again, evenly on the bottom. So, if the caramel is not spreaded evenly at the beginning, dont worry, the flan is going to turn out amazing anyway..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
This caramel flan is perfect. I have made it twice, once for a dinner party and once for a wedding reception. Everyone who tries it LOVES it, even people who don't necessarily have a liking for flan. People also keep asking me when I am going to make it again. The melted sugar is very simple if you pay attention because it will seem like the sugar will never melt and then all of sudden it is brown and fluid. Simply pour into the pan quickly and try to coat as much as possible before it hardens. It doesn't matter if it coats the bottom of the pan unevenly because the flan mixture sitting in the pan for 8 hours while it is refrigerating, will smooth out the melted sugar and make a perfect topping once it is flipped. (Trust me, both times the sugar hardened too quickly but the end result was perfection.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
Loved this recipe! I made three for a big party and it was great. Some tips I used were to let the eggs and cream cheese come to room temp before mixing, be sure to beat well after each egg is added for the lightest texture and don't overcook sugar in the first step. If you do make more than one at a time like I did, do not try to do the carmelized sugar in one large batch, it will not work well, I had brittle sugar by the time it had all melted, then I redid it in individual batches. But I used the brittle for decoration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fitforaqueenclothing.com

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
This has a very nice texture. It is very dense and more like cheesecake which I like. I did have a few problems though. I can't melt sugar and make caramel. I used a recipe that calls for 2 cups of sugar and 3/4 cup of water and cooked that and made beautiful caramel. Just a reminder to others, make sure all your ingerdients are at room temp. not just the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
delicious. i substituted melted vanilla bean ice cream for the sweetened condensed milk and 1/2 and 1/2 for evaporated milk & it turned out great. when melting the sugar for the sauce, use med. heat, keep stirring constantly & remove from heat as soon as it turns brown & liquefies. if sauce hardens too quickly before spreading in bottom of pan, microwave it for 20 secs or so & it'll spread fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
This is really good. Very very creamy and just plain good!! Like eating a bite of cheesecake and flan at the same time. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States