Creamy Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I'm not gonna complain that this didn't taste like typical flan because I did expect something different, but I was a bit disappointed with the result. The flavours were nice but the flan was too dense for me. If it doesn't jiggle then it ain't flan! The cream cheese could be halved to help this. Also the caramel took me two attempts to get right and I normally don't have a problem making caramels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Delicious... one of my allstars favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This was a very sweet dessert that worked well with a Mexican-themed dinner. However, the some of the caramel stuck to the bottom of my pan instead of to the flan. The caramel was also really runny, but I may not have chilled it long enough (2 hours). It tasted very sweet, but was almost too rich for most people's tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
WONDERFUL and super easy!! However, I'm giving it only 3 stars because of the sugar situation. I'm reading that several others had the same problem with the sugar hardening immediately and then sticking when it was inverted. I followed the directions word for word and this still happened. So...it tasted so good that I'm willing to give it another try. I'm probably just going to sprinkle the pan with brown sugar and pour the filling over that. It should work...we shall see!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Dudley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I love this recipe! I have made this flan numerous times and it has always been a hit. To make things lighter, I use 1/3 less fat cream cheese and fat free condensed milk. Also! I had a slight pinch of cinnamon... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by creepygiraffe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I just made this flan for a Mexican themed party and it turned out great! I had never made flan before so I was very relieved that this turned out so well. I used scalded whole milk instead of evaporated. I also used 3 yolks, and 3 whole eggs. Everyone liked it, even people who said they didn't like flan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Got curious about this so I wanted to give this a shot since I've never tried a flan with cream cheese. I followed it exactly and the outcome was a bit strange and gave me flash backs when I made a japanese cheesecake once and turned out to be a total failure. The creaminess? It wasn't creamy as I was hoping for; the texture was more of a wet spongy cheesecake. The only good side to this was that I tasted the actual sweet caramel flan taste that's why I rated average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Takako
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Made this flan for a picnic. Received lots of compliment. I baked for 55 minutes, but it may have been better if a bit shorter. The edge came out a bit hard. The taste and the texture were excellent. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Takako
Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Los Altos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Good, but it was difficult to get the sugar caramelized. It also turned out a little dry. I have a feeling the results were because of me, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lolyla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. I've never made flan before but am pleased to say my husband thought it was great and i will be making it again soon i'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States