Creamy Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This recipe is fabulous just as is. If prepared as suggested, there is NO problem with sugar, etc.. I make this in individual ramekins and reduce baking time by about 20-30 min. I then invert them (run a knife around edges to release) onto individual dessert plates and surround with fresh fruit. My guests think I have gone to so much trouble, and it is SO easy to make! Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This was REALLY creamy and smooth and absolutely perfect, AND it was the first time I've ever made flan, so I'm pretty happy. The sugar took forever to melt down. I think I was stirring it too much because once I left it alone for about a minute, it finally started to melt. So don't be afraid to turn the heat up a little if nothing is happening, and let it melt a little before you stir it. This was a little like a crustless flan-cheesecake. I have flan all the time in Mexican restaurants, and I always enjoy it, so when I made this flan, even though it was really yummy, I was a little disappointed because I like the original so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackieck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
First, this is not traditional flan, and doesn't taste like it at all. It's definitely much thicker and creamier, but maybe you'll like it that way. For a Mexican-themed party, I made 3 versions of flan: the traditional recipe I grew up with in Mexico, a traditional choco-flan recipe, and this recipe. The first was the biggest hit, and the other two were barely eaten. Again, this is very thick and cheesecakish, and though some might like it, I found myself wanting it to be EITHER a real cheesecake or a real flan. Not a fan of the in-between.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This turned out great! It looked very professional. I did panic a bit during the first step. I did heat my dish and sprayed with PAM prior to pouring the melted sugar in, but it didn't spread very well. I discovered that the worry was for nothing! when it bakes in the oven the sugar re melts and i turned out perfect. It seemed to cook quicker than an hour, it only seemed to take about 40 min. When I served it everyone cleaned there plates! even the person who stated that they don't like Flan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1234lisat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetsuzie
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Awesome. Made it for a dinner party and everyone loved it. For caramel I melted in the cake pan I was baking flan in. Just put sugar in the cake pan and melted on stovetop. That way I didn't have to worry about transferring it. I used 8 inch cake pan which I'm glad I did because a 10 in one would have been too thin I think. I only used 4 oz of cream cheese so as to not get too much of a cheesecake taste. Again, glad I made this change. Baked for 40 min at 350 in water bath. After taking out of oven left flan in water bath on counter for an hour then refrigerated. Took out of fridge about 20 min before serving, and flipped onto serving plate. Awesome...see photo in my profile. Seriously looked and tasted unbelievable. Love this recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsuzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Everybody just simply love it and there is never a slice left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caramellover

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ::Annie::
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Delicious.... I only used half a package of cream cheese and left out the vanilla... Absolutely perfect...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ::Annie::

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
How to keep sugar melted--Just got back from El Salvador where a cook named "Paz" showed me how to make flan. Just make the recipe as stated but place pan holding flan in a shallow pan (broiler pan for example) with water. Doesn't have to be much--enough so the water doesn't evaporate. Paz called it a "Baño Maria".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Absolutely divine. Smoother texture than regular flan. Perfect flavor combo. Alternately good when caramel is omitted and topped with a dab of fresh whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this flan yesterday and I loved it! I also have a problem with the regular flan consistency and I will have to say that this was wonderful. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 498) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Crème Caramel

See how to make a fancy flan that’s creamy, sweet, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States