Creamy Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Great recipe, it doesn't really taste like flan but more like cheesecake instead. Still quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARS822

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
great recipe! i would definitely at least double the sugar. one thing u can do is to make more sauce after it is finished since most of it sticks to the bottom of the pan when done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I made this as per the recipe and it turned out great. We had a family dinner for Mother's Day and it was a BIG HIT. Two things I will do next time: have custard cups ready and I might try the blender trick that another reviewer mentioned (put the batter in a blender as a last step before baking). I used my stand mixer and it turned out fine, but I thought it looked a little "grainy." I don't have a 10" round dish so I used an 8" Pyrex round dish, like for apple pie, and I had batter leftover. I quickly caramelized more sugar and put it and the batter into a couple of individual pyrex custard cups and baked as recipe instructs with water in the pan (no cloth though). Those worked great too. I heated my baking dishes in the microwave before putting the sugar in since it does harden quickly. But of course, as you bake it the sugar evens out anyway. It turned out perfectly with only a coating of sugar left in the baking dish but there was plenty on the flan so I didn't care. I served it with fresh sweetened strawberries and homemade whipped cream. Wonderful recipe! Thanks Jo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malbanese

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Easy. Everyone at work loved it. I did follow a reviewers suggestion, I cut the cream cheese to only 1/2 the package. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Great recipe! Although don't use a plastic spoon when making the caramel (duh!). On my second try I used a wooden spoon...it kinda burnt the spoon and the burn gave the caramel an almost alcoholic flavor. Other than that, everything set up perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jengogan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Delicious recipe. I was able to spread the carmelized sugar easily by setting the cake dish on a stove burner as I poured the mixture. Unfortunately, when I flipped the flan over half of it stuck to the cake dish and the presentation was ruined. It tasted awesome though. I had some left over filling that I put in a separate cooking dish that I sprayed with Pam cooking spray. I drizzled the carmel topping on the TOP of the cooled flan and it was delicious with a great presentation. The next time I make this dish I will do it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
My first attempt at Flan and what a success! Lots of compliments. It looked and tasted wonderful. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Hurricane, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This was a beautiful dessert - very impressive looking! It came out of the pan easily and I made it the day before serving, which was convenient. For us, it took longer to cook than the directions stated. I should have followed the other reviewers suggestions and cut the cream cheese in 1/2. 8 oz cream cheese was a bit too much cream cheese flavor and heaviness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This was easy to make and very good even though I forgot the vanilla! Aside from that I follwed this recipe 100%. Don't fret about the carmel hardening so quickly after pouring in the pan because it liquifies as the flan sets up inthe refriderator. I had never made a recipe like this before. My husband and I both loved it! Will surely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Excellent! one thing i changed. my family likes caramel so i put 1 cup instead of 3/4 and what ever was left on the pan after i turned it i added a little bit of water to loosen it and it worked, as a refult all the caramel was used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Besada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 501) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Crème Caramel

See how to make a fancy flan that’s creamy, sweet, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States