Creamy Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Really liked this sauce!! Have made it several times...will make it many more I'm sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This recipe turned out great! Instead of mixing the liquid slowly into the creamcheese... I decided to blend all the liquids together in my blender then I added cheamcheese chucks slowly while the blender was on low. Blended perfectly! The sugar hardened to my bowl like everyone else commented that it would.. I just didn't worry about it. I added the mixure and baked. The caramel sauce will evenly distribute over the bottom while it's baking. :) So no need to warm up your bowl before putting the caramel sauce in it. Just too much of a hassel for something thats going to fix itself in the oven anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Okay so I cheated, but it turned out great and we loved it! Creamy, soft, but not too spongey like regular flan. I'll go ahead and say what I did, for the other idiots out there who are as horrible in the kitchen as I am that can benefit from this. I tried cooking the sugar… but I burned it and ruined one of my pans. So I used Smucker's Caramel Spread instead. Then I followed the instructions on the flan, but I realized too late that I was missing an egg, so I just used four. (P.S. Prep took longer than 15 mins, bit I didn't have a mixer so I twirled my whisk between my palms and it worked just as well.) I couldn't "beat the cream cheese until smooth", until I added the eggs and milks. The extra liquid made it MUCH easier. I baked as instructed, then let it cool, and refrigerate over night, but when I cut into it I discovered only the top had set. So I just slid the pan back in the oven on 450 (minus boiling water and other pan) and left in there for about 30 mins, let cool, and stuck it in the fridge. 5 hours later, I served it as desert and my family loved it! It turned out perfect! Thanks AllRecipes, and Jo Poynor!! XoXo Kayla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Enjoyed this thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SakiFiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I'll give this recipe two stars only because it wasn't the worst thing I've ever tasted. It looked easy so I thought I'd give it a try for a small dinner party. It took me two tries to make the melted sugar layer, by finally taking the advise of another reviewer who suggested putting the baking pan in the oven for a few minutes so that the sugar doesn't harden as soon as it touches the pan. That worked much better. Then I followed the directions exactly. The next day I unmolded the flan and it looked gorgeous, but everyone who tasted it said it was too heavy or too much like cheesecake and the day after that it seemed even more thick and dense. Next time I will stick with a different recipe that is more like traditional flan, lighter and more custard like. If the name of the recipe was "Cheesecake Flan", then it would make more sense to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Perfection. No need to say anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I have used this same recipe for years when I make the cream cheese version of flan. When we place the pan in water it is called baño de maria. Ensures it stays creamy and thick! Delicious and perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This is a great recipe! The flovor is even better than yu find in Mexican restaurants. I top the flan with fresh blueberries and strawberries then I pour on the caramel. I only have a 9" pie pan so I have to make it in two batches. The two batches work out well because we eat one flan warm and let the other chill over night. It is a big hit with the husband and the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
just made this for a dinner party, and everyone loved it...and as everyone else says, even those who aren't flan lovers were fans. used 1 cup of sugar since a fair amount stays stuck to the bottom of the pan. also took the suggestion to warm the dish in the oven for a few minutes first, so the sugar doesn't harden immediately upon contact. not the most amazing dessert i've ever had, but effort vs. result definitely warrants 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
It was great but i had problems with the sugar. I've done it before with only 3 eggs and no sugar coating. I advise you to do the same if this is your first one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Crème Caramel

See how to make a fancy flan that’s creamy, sweet, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States