Creamy Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Delicious. I prefer the less eggey consistency of this flan. I did not have any problems with the caramel. I also sprayed PAM on my pan, which might have helped. Either way, the caramel will breakdown in the fridge and become a sauce, so don't worry if you have problems. I used a 9" cake pan. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
So delicious! Brought it to a work potluck, and my coworkers loved it. A few mentioned that they liked it better than the traditional (read: eggy) flan. I used the ingredients as listed; even though I had read the reviews about using a blender, I thought, "Surely my trusty Kitchenaid mixer will make it smooth." Nope ... I ended up pouring it into my blender;. the cream cheese would not blend in otherwise. I realized when I was pouring the custard into my pan that it was too small, so I made one 8" and two little custard cups. I will buy a 10" round pan just to be able to make this again! A delicious and beautiful dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheriw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
To those who get concerned about the caramel going hard immediately after it's poured... don't worry about it. Leave it like that, pour the flan mixture and bake... the water and the heat takes care of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This is EXACTLY the thick flan recipe I was looking for! I had an amazing special flan dessert in a Tex-Mex restaurant called "El Jarrito" in Katy, TX. Their flan was thick, almost as thick as a cheesecake, but soft and creamy. This was over 5 years ago and I still remember how great it tasted and loved its texture. This recipe is just like what I had - I'm so glad you wrote that this flan was a cross between an egg custard and cheesecake because that's exactly what it is. Thank you, Jo, posting this recipe - it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherry_vinigrette

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Wonderful recipe! First time making it and it was great! Yes, when I made the caramel and put into pan, I had to work quickly with a spatula to spread around as much as possible because it does harden up quickly! But it's OK...when it bakes, it'll become juicy. After I flipped it out of the pan, there was still some hardened caramel in the pan, but I just stuck the pan in boiling water to remove and it worked great. I actually used a 9" pan instead of 10 (was all I had) and that worked just fine as well. It set up nice, flipped out nice and overall, looked wonderful. Everyone loved it! Will definitely make again! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Delicious! The flan I normally make doesn't contain cream cheese but is very similar so I tweaked a bit. I used Neufchatel cheese instead of cream cheese and covered the baking dish with aluminum foil. I also used fat free evaporated milk and 1 cup of sugar for more syrup and it came out fantastic. The cheese actually helps balance out the sweetness and makes it extra rich and creamy. I'm definitely making this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
So Yummy! It's consistency is more like cheesecake. Hardest part about the recipe is waiting the 8 hrs until you can eat it. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I used 3 eggs instead. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Yum! This is my favorite flan recipe hands-down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Made it for christmas this year and everyone loved it. Ended up making four for every home i went to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States