Creamy Cajun Shrimp Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Glad I read the reviews first, used half milk/half cream. Tasted the sauce after simmering for a while and it was very bland. Added ~1/2 cup of Parmesan (slowly added and stirred into the sauce) and several pinches of black pepper. After these additions, the sauce was delicious, but not spicy (I like a fair amount of heat). I think this would be even more amazing with blackened chicken instead of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRTW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This sauce was great. I did tweak the recipe a little though. Instead of lemon juice, I used red peppers to brighten the sauce up. I also added andoullie sausage, used penne noodles (I think they hold the sauce better,) and used bread crumbs to thicken instead of flour (just a personal preference.) The other thing that helped the sauce, I think, was actually an accident. Of course I forgot to start my pasta soon enough, so I ended up having to let the sauce simmer for an extra 15 min. I think this was a good thing though because it really brought the flavors of the sausage and red pepper into the sauce and made it that much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
We loved the recipe. I ended up combining it with another and did the shrimp different than what they had in here. See Cajun Shrimp by Donna Tomason. Both recipes are keepers for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Way too spicy with the full amount of Creole Sauce. Use about 1/2 to 2/3 and should be great. Flavors were excellent just too over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
taste great, just like shrimp alfredo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philly6288

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Be sure you LOVE cajun before you make this! I decreased to ONE tablespoon and it was quite hot! My advice is to start with a teaspoon, taste, and add from there. I also increased the butter, salt, and used 3 cloves of garlic. I threw in basil and parsley for color. I needed to add more milk, as my sauce was way too thick. After all that, overall it was quick to make and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Very good! I use a salt free cajun seasoning (found the recipe on this site) so that I can control the amount of salt. Otherwise I think that 2T of normal cajun seasoning might be too salty. But the flavor is great and it is a very quick and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Turned out excellent. My husband said this is one of the best dishes i made. We are Indians so I added an Indian twist and it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drim2004

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Found a little bland, but overall a good meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katelyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Chicken Pasta

See how to make a creamy chicken sauté served over linguine.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States