Creamy Butternut Squash With Cinnamon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
Lovely warm taste. Made my entire house smell wonderful. Taste to die for - not too thick, but still hearty. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
This is possibly the best soup I've ever eaten! I added a diced pear when I added the garlic and spices which gave it more texture and made it a bit sweeter. Very yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
my 19 month old daughter and i loved this soup. i didn't have an onion so we didn't use it and i used veggie broth instead of chicken, it was still very flavorful and a lovely autumn meal:). thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This isn't just making soup.. this is a culinary experience! The smell of the vegetables while they saute is wonderful. The golden beautiful color of the vegetables is amazing and then the fragrant spices fill your kitchen. This soup is amazing. It has the most wonderful taste. Best butternut soup I have made or tasted! I loved the warmth of the cayenne pepper also; I might use a tiny bit less next time though, but don't leave it out! Wonderful for a chilly fall night or cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Absolutely lovely. I left out the cloves (didn't have any), and cooked it a little longer than recommended (got sidetracked). This turned out to be a good thing, because when I got back to it, it could be blended with a potato masher- way less mess than a blender. It was a hit with my husband and the friends we were sharing with- everyone wanted the recipe. I'll definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Destie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
FANTASTIC...This soup was so tasty and creamy. I only used 1 cup of half and half and no cayenne pepper or apple chips. Very easy since I had all the ingredients in the house. I cooked each step a little longer than it says. It has such a wonderful flavor and the color is so perfect for fall. Made my Thursday night dinner seem like we were in a fancy restaurant. Will make for Thanksgiving. Hubby loved it. Thanks alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
delicious! This soup had a great flavor. I didn't used cloves as I didn't have any, and added more than a pinch of sugar, but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Delicious! Served this to a dinner party over the weekend and got rave reviews. Instead of apple chips, I topped with sour cream. I forgot to purchase the apple chips at the store otherwise I would have added them. Great presentation. You should have heard the "ooohhhhs" and "aaaahhhhhs." Simple to prepare, cannot wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This might have been the best thing that I have ever made. It was our first course at our Thanksgiving meal and it got absolute raves from everyone (including my 5 year old!) I mostly followed the recipe except I only used 1 tsp of cinnamon instead of 1 1/2tsp (although the full amount probably would have been fine, I worried that it was too much). I was very lucky that I had all the veggies from our local organic CSA and I used my own chicken stock. I also added leeks because I had them, as well as a sprig of fresh thyme. I used a quart of chicken stock and about 2 lbs of butternut squash. It made a good consistency soup that needed almost no half and half at all (I probably used about 1/2 cup). The cayenne gave this a wonderful kick. I garnished with fresh thyme instead of apple chips. My family said that it was "restaurant quality" soup. It is a great recipe that I am sure will become a T-day tradition in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Way too much spice, and too thick. May try again with 1/4 of the spice, and a bunch more broth. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States