Creamy Butternut Squash With Cinnamon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
The essence of fall is captured in this soup. As others suggested, I roasted the squash first and used butter instead of oil. Also, I added a Bartlett pear, curry powder, nutmeg, and ground cardamom. Excellent! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
It took a while to make but in the end it is ABSOLUTELY delicious! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I made this using leftover roasted butternut squash, so I had to modify the technique a bit. We liked the flavor, but all thought it was just too rich. I would recommend using milk rather than half and half. The apple slices as garnish add a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
As much as I wanted to enjoy this soup because I love butternut squash, I thought it was okay. I'm not sur e what was missing for me. It almost felt like it needed some sort of crunch to it. But, it was worth the try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
The amount of cinnamon was overwhelming and I only used 1 tsp. instead of the 1 1/2 tsp. Made the house smell nice, but tasted like potpourri.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
so good! i had a TON of squash from our garden that was starting to go bad, so it was very ripe. i read the comments here, so i knew not to worry about the color changing and just followed the time directions and my nose. it's wonderful! the perfect blend of the autumn spices and just a tiny kick of spice at the end. i will DEFINITELY be making this again for holiday meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by InfamousQBert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This soup is exceptional. Just make sure you taste it after it's all put together. My squash must not have been very sweet because the soup just wasn't sweet enough and all of the spices gave is a bitter aftertaste. I added brown sugar one tablespoon at a time and by the time I'd added 3T it was perfect. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This was my first attempt at butternut squash soup and it was absolutely delicious. I used one 8oz package of cream cheese and one cup of milk instead of 1 1/2 cups of half and half. It was very creamy. Will definitely be making this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This soup was good - not excellent...Like someone else said, I had to add some ingredients to get a better taste. I have since found a better butternut squash soup - one that is creamier- that my family likes much better. Probably won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Lots of ingredients but the flavour still wasn't there so I had to add things at the end to get a good taste - eg. dash of curry. Sauteed squash with two granny smiths for sweetness. Seemed really thick. Will try again, maybe my stock was too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States