Creamy Butternut Squash With Cinnamon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Yummy! Not sure how big my squash was as I only needed 2 cups of chicken broth, but used the same amount of all of the spices as listed above. Next time will use the suggestions on adding the pears, I think that sounds great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This recipie was great! I made a few minor modifications. As previously mentioned, I cut the butternut squash in halves, scooped out the seeds and baked them on a baking sheet rather than sauteeing them. Butternut squash is difficult to cut when uncooked, so this made cutting the squash into pieces later much easier. I ended up adding a couple of potatoes, which complimented the butternut squash quite well. I also added a pinch of sugar to compliment the cinnamon taste. It was great, I will definitely be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Pretty good soup. The cinnamon is not overpowering. Added fresh apples instead of dried for garnish and added a granny smith apple in the soup. Also, took others' advice and roasted squash (just under 4 pounds)--it was very easy and delicious. I also used fresh ginger. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Juniper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This was a great soup!! I cut the squash in half and spooned out the seeds. I then brushed the meat with a little olive oil and placed in the oven at 375 for 45 min. Once it was out I spooned the meat into the onions and garlic and let them simmer together for about 5 min. I threw in half an apple peeled, cored and sliced into the squash mixture and then I eyeballed the amount of broth I put in so that it was still pretty thick before I put it in the blender. After I blended it smooth I poured about 1/4 cup of heavy whipping cream into the blender and blended again. Once it was back in the pot I added a little more broth until it was the consistency I wanted and then added a little more sugar and the other half of the apple sliced. It turned out AMAZING!! The slices of apple really add something, and keep the soup from being texturally similar to baby food. the hubby loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacegirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I tried this today, and I hated it. It was super bland, and way too thick for me. Maybe I just don't like squash, I'm not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I usually love alot of spices in my food but this one had too much cloves. I've made it twice and if we make it again it will only be as a starter, it's not filling enough for dinner. We used milk instead of half-and-half to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I added some apple when I was sauteing the veggies and its superb!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
My toddler and I loved this, but my husband wasn't impressed. Great flavors but in the end, too much soup for just me to finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This is the best butternut squash soup!! I've made this recipe more times than I can count and it will always be the recipe I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
We love this soup and eat it often in the fall! I add my own dried apple chips that I dust with cinnamon and sugar before I dry them. YUMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking4five

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morris, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States