Creamy Butternut Squash With Cinnamon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was a pretty good soup. I thought it odd that when I cooked the soup, it smelled different that when I tasted it. It has a really spicy aftertaste. My husband liked it too. However, I did not give it to my little one because it ended up so spicy. I would recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
A bit too much cinnamon for my taste, but aside from that, it was great. Next time I will use half the cinnamon and add some tarragon. The cayenne added a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Flavorful fall weather treat. Will make it again without the cayenne pepper. Rich creamy texture. Tasted fine with vanilla soy milk; probably could do without the pinch of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minda Chow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Out of this world! Thanks for a fantastic recipe! I substituted the cayenne with black pepper but otherwise with this recipe, you can stick to the actual recipe and not do a lot of altering. The kids even like this. FANTASTIC! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This was easy to make and delicious - the combination of cinnamon and garlic made an impressive soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
did not add apple chips. Added heavy cream instead of milk, nutmeg. delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I baked the squash in the oven and then used 3 cups of cooked, mashed squash. I thought the consistency was quite nice using all other liquids in the proportions listed. I used evaporated milk instead of half-and-half. I followed the cooking times listed in the directions and not the color cues because I used the pre-cooked mashed squash. I gave it 4 stars because I think it turned out much as I would expect from the description. No surprises are the halmark of a quality recipe. I don't think I will make this again however because it is a very sweet soup and I prefer something more savory. I doubled the cayenne and still found that it did not have much kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Easy and delicious soup. The most difficult is blending the soup to a smooth consistency. I was able to use my food processor (keeping it below the liquid fill line) to do it in 2 batches. Make this vegan by using vegetable broth and not adding the cream. Instead, add less broth to create the thicker consistency. I chose to garnish with some nutmeg--really brought out the squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I make a lot of recipes from this site and I was really excited about making this one because I was craving squash soup super bad. Compared to other soups I have had this soup was not good at all. It had a strong onion taste. When my mother came over to watch my daughter she tried it and didn't like it. She couldn't even believe that I made this. She told me she has never tried anything bad that I have made. This was not the type of squash soup I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This is good - but a little more spiced than I would normally like. I had to make a few modifications (added some potato to make up for the squash - I only had half of a large butternut) and found that the flavour was still a bit much. I love the concept though, so I'll definitely give this another go exactly true to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States