Creamy Butternut Squash With Cinnamon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I just made this. Taste very good. It was a success. Only thing is I added coconut milk instead of half and half or milk. I also sauteed squash and onions in blood orange olive oil. I also bought ready to cook squash from Sam's club. I have a 13 1/2month old, so cubed was definitely best for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Do not repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
One of my all-time favorite recipes on this site. I have made this again and again. Add a dollop of Greek yogurt on top... scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Very good! The aroma and flavors definitely say *Christmas* to me, which made this perfect for Christmas Eve dinner. I served it as the main course but, if I make it again, I'll serve it as an appetizer (soup shooters?) because it is so rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I've made this twice now and love it! Not a fan of spicy Cajun so I followed the recipe the first time and it was a bit too spicy for my liking, so just reduced the amount the second time. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Best soup ever...fantastic cold too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Just made this fabulous soup!! For the most part I followed all the instructions except I only had fat-free Half and Half on hand. I also added about 1 1/2 tsp of honey at the very end which just smoothed out all the flavors. The cayenne really gave it a kick! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I was really hoping to love this soup. But we both didn't really care for it. I roasted my squash instead of sauteing it and pretty much went by the rest of the recipe. Even though my first few bites of this was very pleasant, I think I would rather have a small little appetizer size bowl of it before your main meal. We had it with our meal and I think that may be why we didn't care for it. But as an appetizer, I think it would be perfect. Thanks for letting us try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Excellent! Not too much cinnamon at all. Upped the cayenne to 1/4 and added a 1/4 cajun seasoning and a sprinkle of turmeric. The ginger hits the back of your throat and the cayenne and cajun the tongue. Everyone liked it and I like hot, but just on the verge of a sweat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allenjc41
Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Loved this. Did this differently than listed and it was great: Roasted the squash at 400 degrees for 45 minutes before beginning with the recipe instructions. I did almost 2 lbs of squash but kept the spice quantities the same. Instead of pinch of white sugar, I did pinch of brown sugar. Didn't have half and half or whole mile, so I did 2 cups of 2% and then diluted 2 tbls of corn starch in about 1/2 cup of water to thicken the pureed squash mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Gibson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States