Creamy Butternut Squash With Cinnamon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Delish! Since roasting the squash (cut side down, 400 degrees, 45 mins) helps keep in the nutrients, i roasted the squash, then followed the recipe exactly. It was incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEEJA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carroll, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This was delicious, even though I cheated a little. I used butternut squash that I had roasted and frozen a few days ago. Also, I roasted the onions and garlic (2 whole cloves) in olive oil, salt, and pepper on 375 for about 30 minutes. Then, I discarded the garlic cloves, melted the butter in the pan, and added the defrosted squash and roasted onions to the pan...Mmmmm, mmmmm. I used ground cloves and didn't find it too overpowering. Also, I only used about 1/8 cup or so of heavy cream (all I had left in the container) and I don't think it needed much more than this, anyway. I also tossed in a little extra sugar, brown and white, because I think it brings out the flavor of the butternut squash so, so well. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivineHealth7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I didn't care for this soup. I think maybe it was too heavy on the cloves. It was pretty runny, even though I followed other reviewers' advice by only adding a touch of milk. I probably would not make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This was fantastic! I made it with a few variations though. I substituted fat free 1/2 and 1/2 for the regular, and added four tablespoons of butter instead of one to make it richer. Louisiana Cajun spice (just a 1/2 tblsp) and a dash of nutmeg made it delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKernahan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
An easy recipe, but I found that it had an unusual after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I tried to like this, but I really hated the texture of the puree. I thought it had a really odd flavor, and ended up throwing most of the pot away. Maybe it's just personal preference, but I didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I was really disappointed in this soup. I followed the directions exactly. My family thought the flavors together were strange and that it was a 3 star instead of a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
A little time consuming but very good. Although, my husband liked it better than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Didn't love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishop, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This was a big hit with husband. There are only two of us so I only used one 14 oz can of chicken broth and about a cup of half and half. I also added about 2-3 teaspoons of brown sugar to sweeten it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States