Creamy Butternut Squash With Cinnamon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I found this recipe overly spicy in terms of "fragrant spices", but at the same time quite bland. I also didn't like the brownish colour from the spices. It was a little better once seasoned with salt & pepper, but I probably will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I altered this recipe quite a bit (added an apple, a pear, and a few carrots, increased the sugar, omitted the cayenne), and it turned out fantastic! Definitely a recipe I will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This was my first attempt at making Butternut Squash soup and my husband and I loved this recipe. It was the right amount of taste and thickness, it hit the spot. It tastes great with a little sour cream adding before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Delicious!! Definately didn't use 1 1/2 cups of milk. Maybe about 1/2 cup. And, I didn't use all three cups of the broth either. I also used someone else's suggestion and add some diced pear. This is the PERFECT fall day soup. As we speak I am eating it, and listening to my Christmas music!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Martin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Absolutely fantastic recipe! I made it vegetarian, so used 2 cubes of vegetable "chicken" bouillon dissolved in 3 cups of water instead of the chicken stock. I had fresh ginger on hand, and substituted allspice for the cloves. The cayenne gives a subtle kick to the recipe, and the spices complement each other perfectly. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
FABULOUS! If I could give this more than 5 stars, I would. Very smooth, creamy, and a superb blend of spices. I made this for my husband and me, and I wish that I had doubled the recipe for our dinner-we both wanted more. This would make an excellent Thanksgiving or Christmas soup, but it is so good that I don't think that I could limit eating it to only the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Yummy. Instead of the pepper I added nutmeg, and I used milk instead of cream or half and half. Only used about 1/2 cup of milk. Was sweet and delicious and even my five year old enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyful1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Zumbrota, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I guess everyone has different tastes, but my family could not even gag this one down, and we usually like healthier recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gnadenhutten, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I made this for christmas. I was a bit hesitant but everyone ate it up!!!!! It had a delicious cinnamon flavor. I added some sugar to sweeten it up a bit. The Cayenne gives a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I have made this soup twice now and it is wonderful! I dropped a star not because of the soup itself, but simply because the descriptions of the steps in the recipe seemed to me misleading and thus confusing. What I mean is that descriptions of what the vegetables should look like at different steps in the process, i.e. "golden brown," "spotty caramel color," never happened when I made it, no matter how long I let it cook at that stage. So after waiting long enough for these color changes I would simply move on, and the soup still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States