Creamy Butternut Squash With Cinnamon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Out of this world! Thanks for a fantastic recipe! I substituted the cayenne with black pepper but otherwise with this recipe, you can stick to the actual recipe and not do a lot of altering. The kids even like this. FANTASTIC! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This was easy to make and delicious - the combination of cinnamon and garlic made an impressive soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
did not add apple chips. Added heavy cream instead of milk, nutmeg. delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I baked the squash in the oven and then used 3 cups of cooked, mashed squash. I thought the consistency was quite nice using all other liquids in the proportions listed. I used evaporated milk instead of half-and-half. I followed the cooking times listed in the directions and not the color cues because I used the pre-cooked mashed squash. I gave it 4 stars because I think it turned out much as I would expect from the description. No surprises are the halmark of a quality recipe. I don't think I will make this again however because it is a very sweet soup and I prefer something more savory. I doubled the cayenne and still found that it did not have much kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Easy and delicious soup. The most difficult is blending the soup to a smooth consistency. I was able to use my food processor (keeping it below the liquid fill line) to do it in 2 batches. Make this vegan by using vegetable broth and not adding the cream. Instead, add less broth to create the thicker consistency. I chose to garnish with some nutmeg--really brought out the squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I make a lot of recipes from this site and I was really excited about making this one because I was craving squash soup super bad. Compared to other soups I have had this soup was not good at all. It had a strong onion taste. When my mother came over to watch my daughter she tried it and didn't like it. She couldn't even believe that I made this. She told me she has never tried anything bad that I have made. This was not the type of squash soup I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This is good - but a little more spiced than I would normally like. I had to make a few modifications (added some potato to make up for the squash - I only had half of a large butternut) and found that the flavour was still a bit much. I love the concept though, so I'll definitely give this another go exactly true to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I had a craving for some creamy butternut squash soup after my office cafeteria made some watery soup (flavorful, but watery). My step-daughter and I found this recipe and quickly made it on Saturday morning. We ate it all day! The flavors are AMAZING!! You can taste the cinnamon, the garlic, the ginger! It tastes like the smell of fall to me and I will absolutely make this again. I brought the remainder to work and it is a huge hit here as well. I've already handed out the recipe a number of times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
PHENOMINAL!!!! This has a perfect balance of sweet and spicy. I roasted the squash and onions before adding to the broth for a deeper flavor. Blending it in the blender gives it a wonderful, velvety consistency. I used 1 cup unsweetened apple sauce instead of a whole apple, and evaporated skim milk instead of regular. Low fat, low sugar AND low calorie! It was fantastic. This is a new fall/winter staple for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Soooo good!!! I made this in September and it was a perfect fall recipe. Spicy and hearty, and definitely filling enough to be an entree on its own. It fed me for days, and I never got bored of it. I should mention that, after reading other reviewers' suggestions, I roasted the squash beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flyingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States