Creamy Butternut Squash With Cinnamon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I loved the flavor but it seemed to me like it was missing something. And I can't quite put my finger on it. The directions were a little confusing/misleading when referring to the color of the squash while cooking. Over all, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
The spices are really flavorful! A hit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Exquisite taste! Excellent for cold days or even Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bitola, Pelagonia, Macedonia
Living In: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I dropped the garlic and added a peeled/chopped apple. In addition, 1 tbls lemon juice and 1/4 sherry. 1 can chicken broth, 1 cups milk YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Warning: this is spicy!! It is a godsend of a recipe for me however, because I just got braces and need exactly these types of soup recipes. I used my vitamix blender which is made for this type of recipe. I reduced the cayenne and onion a bit, and replaced the cream with silken soft tofu to make it vegan. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This was so tasty! The only change I made was to cut the cinnamon in half and that was just the right amount for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Delicious! Baked the squash first as other reviewers suggested. Also left out the half-and-half to make it healthier; the soup was plenty creamy without. Next time I'll skip the cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was a really easy recipe. I followed the suggestions and roasted the squash first, for 45 minutes at 375. The first time I made a squash soup it took me forever to peel it. This way I didn't have to do that. In order to use up somethings I had in the house I also roasted some regular and sweet potatos. I cooked the onions, and then dumped in the roasted squash and potatos. This changes the texture a bit, but is a good way to cheaply strech the recipe. I added a little more in the way of spices (probably about 1 1/2 times the reccommended amounts) and used nutmeg in place of cloves because that is what I had. I also added some pumpkin pie spice to taste. The last change that I made was using vanilla yogurt in place of the half and half. The end product is a slightly tangy, slightly spicy, slightly sweet soup. Kind of like pie. Really good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I followed the recipe exectly and the consistency turned out fine, I just didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This soup was creamy and delicious!!! Definitely a favorite on colder nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayellpee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States