Creamy Buttermilk Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This is one of those dressings that you have to play with a bit to get the desired taste and consistency you want. I used all light/reduced fat ingredients and opted for the rice wine vinegar vs. the lemon juice as it's a bit on the sweeter side. I did add a bit more buttermilk and this definitely needed some fresh chives and dill - a generous helping at that. I let everything set in the fridge for a few hours to let the flavors blend. In the end, with those additions it's a really nice salad dressing to top mixed greens and grilled chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This is a nice buttermilk dressing. It was no thicker than a bottled ranch, and I thinned it down slightly by adding a little more buttermilk. I thought the lemon flavor was a bit to strong, so next time I'll either cut back on that or try the rice vinegar to see what that's like. My very picky daughter likes it and that means I'll be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I made this dressing for a large bowl of pasta so I tripled it, except for the lemon juice. I just added 6T of the lemon juice, and I also just used 1T of Spice World Minced Garlic in the refrigeration jar. We liked this blend and will use it again. However, I enjoy the dressing on the pasta a few hours ahead of eating it in order for the flavors to permeate throughout the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandmother Lesley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aransas Pass, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This was very very bad. It was thick as pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRI13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Given the tang of the sour cream, buttermilk and mayonnaise, I questioned the necessity of adding any lemon juice or vinegar at all, let alone the rather hefty amount called for. I left it out completely. So glad I did. I also knew this would be too thick for me so I doubled the buttermilk. Perfect. Finally, I knew this dressing would need a serious flavor boost – so I added fresh chives, dill and parsley. What started out as a rather mediocre, too acidic dressing became elevated to five stars. Skip the lemon or vinegar, give it a burst of flavor with some herbs, and thin as necessary with additional buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I used fresh buttermilk after making butter from our raw cows milk. I added sea salt and fresh peppercorns from a grinder a squirt of lemon juice, sour cream and mayo. It was very good! This time I had to use store bought mayo and sour cream next time I'll try homemade. This will be excellent for thanksgiving and everyday dinners. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I forgot to add the lemon juice or vinegar, and I added a generous amount of Italian seasoning, along with several grinds of fresh black pepper. It was a little thick, so I added buttermilk to thin it out. This dressing improves as the flavors blend, so I let it sit overnight...delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Delicious on our salad- creamy, old-fashioned goodness. Extra keeps well in a jar in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Clearlake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This was super thick & bland to me. I had to add quite a bit more buttermilk, and lots of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This was ok. I added the lemon juice and just a splash of rice wine vinegar. My dressing was actually pretty thin, which was totally fine. It just did not have much umph. I added quite a bit of dill. Fresh would have been much better but all I had was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Honey Mustard Dressing II

This dressing is great for salads and for dipping veggies.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States