Creamy Buttermilk Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This was very very bad. It was thick as pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRI13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This is a nice buttermilk dressing. It was no thicker than a bottled ranch, and I thinned it down slightly by adding a little more buttermilk. I thought the lemon flavor was a bit to strong, so next time I'll either cut back on that or try the rice vinegar to see what that's like. My very picky daughter likes it and that means I'll be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I made this dressing for a large bowl of pasta so I tripled it, except for the lemon juice. I just added 6T of the lemon juice, and I also just used 1T of Spice World Minced Garlic in the refrigeration jar. We liked this blend and will use it again. However, I enjoy the dressing on the pasta a few hours ahead of eating it in order for the flavors to permeate throughout the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandmother Lesley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aransas Pass, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Delicious on our salad- creamy, old-fashioned goodness. Extra keeps well in a jar in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Bennett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Clearlake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I used fresh buttermilk after making butter from our raw cows milk. I added sea salt and fresh peppercorns from a grinder a squirt of lemon juice, sour cream and mayo. It was very good! This time I had to use store bought mayo and sour cream next time I'll try homemade. This will be excellent for thanksgiving and everyday dinners. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This was super thick & bland to me. I had to add quite a bit more buttermilk, and lots of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
What if I have Miracle Whip instead of mayo and Cider vinegar instead of Rice wine vinegar? Too much varience?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia Israel Hall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Quite bland. Should be obvious from the lack of chives, onion powder, dill, parsley, etc. Many other buttermilk dressing recipes on here that are vastly superior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roderic Rinehart

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centerville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Very nice... needed to use some lettuce I had and didn't have any salad dressing... so found this recipe and really liked it. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Del Rio, Texas, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I forgot to add the lemon juice or vinegar, and I added a generous amount of Italian seasoning, along with several grinds of fresh black pepper. It was a little thick, so I added buttermilk to thin it out. This dressing improves as the flavors blend, so I let it sit overnight...delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States