Creamy Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2000
This is the same recipe I have, but she's right--it's all in the technique! I whipped it the full 10 minutes and it made a world of difference! Give it a try, it's well worth the extra time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
As a cake designer and baker I found this recipe to be one I will use over and over again! I have tested many and this tastes and looks like an authentic Italian buttercream...but with less work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
I have been using this recipe for a little while now on all my cakes. My family loves the taste. I dislike shortening based frostings. The fact that I can control the sugar is nice. I use a little more sugar for kids cakes and less for adults. You can flavor to your liking as well. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
This is the best frosting I have ever tasted. I added a teaspoon of vanilla and an extra 1/2 cup of powdered sugar. Great on Chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Unless you like eating a stick of butter on your cake I would not make this frosting. I think there must be a typo, I added 1/2 butter to 1 cup sugar and 1 cup cream and this came out really well, I also added some vanilla essence to give it some flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
I TRIED THIS BECAUSE I WAS DESPERATE FOR A FROSTING THAT ISN'T TOO SWEET. I WOULD HAVE TO AGREE THAT THE TEXTURE IS MARVELOUS, BUT IT DOES TASTE MORE LIKE BUTTER THAN FROSTING. SUGGESTION: MAKE WITH UNSALTED BUTTER ONLY. WOULD THE SAME RECIPE WORK, CHANGING THE RATION OF BUTTER TO CREAM--LESS BUTTER, MORE CREAM?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frannie Turrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lackawanna, New York, USA
Living In: Damascus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
I love this recipe. It's almost like very thick whipped cream. You absolutely must use unsalted butter, though. Otherwise it will taste like whipped butter, as many others have said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is a great recipe. NO RAW EGGS! A huge plus since all Italian or Swiss buttercreams call for egg whites. But the recipe could use improvements. 1. half a teaspoon(or more) of vanilla adds a lot of flavor. 2. Some of my tasters felt that there was too much of a "butter felling" in the texture; the method I used for correcting the texture was adding small amounts of extra confectioners sugar, no more than half a cup, to the frosting and whipping it for a couple of minutes longer. If the frosting became stiff you would have to 1 to 2 tablespoons of whipping cream. After adding the extra sugar the frosting became to sweet, so to tone down the sweetness, I slowly added pinches of salt to the frosting, a baker's secret. Be very careful not to add too much salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I had to add a LOT more sugar to this recipe. It was too buttery to spread on my cake. I ended up adding one bar of hot melted giradelli bittersweet chocolate and it came out great, but I felt like a mad scientist trying to get it to a spreadable consistency adding water, cocoa, sugar, and chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April in Texas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This has quite the name for itself!! mine tasted just like Butter, I was VERY disappointed, but then thats its taste, Right? Taking the amount of sweetness in your hands is a really good feature I liked about this recipe! I covered a 9inch layer cake and had Half the cream left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Cozycook*

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States