Creamy Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Anyone who has baked even brownies from a box must know you use Unsalted butter to bake or in sweet recipes.Imagine dipping a spoon in a tub of lard and eating it with sprinkled sugar on top-that's frosting with shortening in it, Gross. So like Paula Deen, I opt for BUTTER anytime!Great recipe.Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovelymeal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kiele Briscoe
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiele Briscoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nucla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Rocky Ford, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I agree with most other reviews. The texture is great, however, it does taste like pure butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I wish I had read more than the first 3 reviews (which were favorable). This frosting needs way more sugar. I would recommend a whole 2 lb bag of confectioners sugar (at least - maybe more, I didn't test out this recommendation). It was not nearly sweet enough. I do think the whipping suggestion was good, though, hence 2 stars. But I actually peeled the frosting off of my piece of birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is a great recipe. NO RAW EGGS! A huge plus since all Italian or Swiss buttercreams call for egg whites. But the recipe could use improvements. 1. half a teaspoon(or more) of vanilla adds a lot of flavor. 2. Some of my tasters felt that there was too much of a "butter felling" in the texture; the method I used for correcting the texture was adding small amounts of extra confectioners sugar, no more than half a cup, to the frosting and whipping it for a couple of minutes longer. If the frosting became stiff you would have to 1 to 2 tablespoons of whipping cream. After adding the extra sugar the frosting became to sweet, so to tone down the sweetness, I slowly added pinches of salt to the frosting, a baker's secret. Be very careful not to add too much salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This has quite the name for itself!! mine tasted just like Butter, I was VERY disappointed, but then thats its taste, Right? Taking the amount of sweetness in your hands is a really good feature I liked about this recipe! I covered a 9inch layer cake and had Half the cream left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Cozycook*

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by michelleauer
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I've tried several buttercream recipes and this is my favorite. It would be hard to decorate with due to the light consistency, but it's perfect for an old fashioned cake or cupcake. I used 3 sticks of butter, 3/4 cup heavy whipping cream, and 3/4 cup of sugar. I added 1 tblsp of Wilton's vanilla extract. I am going to try it some other flavors next. I think it could make a beautiful holiday cake if you added dried fruit to the top of the cake. FYI- You really need to whip the butter for the full 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleauer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This is basically like spreading i can't believe its not butter on your cake. i had to add an extra cup and a half or so and some almond extract to make it palatable. then i spread it very thin on the cake so that it wouldn't be too overpowering. way too buttery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I added more powdered sugar to cut the butter taste and also added vanilla extract. It was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DavidsMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I'm a great baker and i used this frosting for a surprise party cake. I went to my local baking supply store and found many things to make it perfect. Eating the cake was awesome because guess what the best part was? THE FROSTING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States