Creamy Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made this frosting with my 4 year old nephews and it was very easy, but it just tasted like straight butter. I used half of the recommended amount of butter and added lots more sugar and vanilla but it still did not take away from the butter taste. I could not get my nephews or my husband to eat a full cookie with this frosting on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
It is absolutely delicious if you add more sugar. As it is the frosting tasted too much like eating butter. I tripled the sugar and it received adult raves at my daughter's birthday party. I was also really impressed that it came out very white just like decorating frosting but with better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Machesney Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I was really excited for this recipe. 3 ingredients and easy instructions. I followed the instructions and ended up with a lumpy texture. That was fixable. But the flavor was WAY TOO BUTTERY! It tasted like I was eating a stick of butter. I tried again with 1 cup of butter and 6 cups of confectionars' sugar. I used the same amount of heavy whipping cream and added vanilla extract. That ended up being perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I am pretty sure I followed this recipe exact, but it did not work out for me. It had a runny consistency during the mixing process, but I told myself it would firm up after chilling. I was wrong. These were suppose to frost my daughters birthday cupcakes. The frosting (as the chill wore off) became runny. A disappointment. I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelbi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This frosting recipe worked for me, but you do have to add your own flavoring!!! I added vanilla flavoring at the first step when the butter was being whipped for 10 minutes. I also wanted a sweeter frosting so I added about a half pound of confectioner's sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
OMG, this is the buttercream recipe that i've been looking for its like sweet, thick whipped cream. yum! to anyone who complains that this "doesnt taste like the store-bought stuff" or "all you can taste is butter"... It ISN"T SUPPOSED TO! if it tastes wrong, your doing something wrong. either that or you dont know what a true buttercream is supposed to taste like. Betty Crocker from the supermarket is NOT GOOD ICING. and this stuff is! Lost one star because the overall flavor is a bit bland, should have noted that this is an ICING BASE and you NEED TO ADD YOUR OWN FLAVORINGS if you want it to taste like chocolate or vanilla or whatever. Still, this i the icing i will be using on the cupcakes at my wedding. Thank you so much for posting this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NeonVampireChef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
This recipe is incredible & *exactly* what I was looking for. It's a perfect marriage of buttercream and whipped cream icing. I added 2 tsp of vanilla, but that is entirely optional. Make sure to follow the steps & allow the frosting to whip fully. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Tasted like a stick of butter and refused to stick to my cake even though it was chilled. Drove me crazy! will not use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn Pawlik

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly....but it turned out clumpy and curdled and it was VERY buttery...so I added more powdered sugar, cream, and some vanilla. It's still clumpy but it tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This was an easy recipe to make. It taste nice and smooth. I added an extra half a cup of confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States